NYSE · Security Brokers, Dealers & Flotation Companies · CIK 0000316709
$109.29
-0.79% · delayed 15 min
$198.20B market value
What this company does
SCHWAB CHARLES trades securities and runs financial markets. It took in $23.92B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 37 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From SCHWAB CHARLES CORP's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +22.0%
$19.61B to $23.92B
Improved: +49.0%
$5.94B to $8.85B
Improved: +6.7 pts
30.3% to 37.0%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$8.85B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$9.31B cash from operations
Sales are growing quickly.
up 22.0% on last year
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 6/6
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 0.9% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 37 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $8.85B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 26 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 25% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $8.85B and generated $9.31B of cash from operations.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-12 | 2026-08-10 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-07 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from SCHW's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 6 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 3 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +327.5%
$2.05B to $8.76B
Improved: +9.4%
$42.08B to $46.03B
Changed: -11.6%
$620.0M to $548.0M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 22.0% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.11 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Around average. Investors pay $22.4 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
Reported annual figures
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-07-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-29 | 2026-06-25 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-01 | 2026-06-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-22 | 2026-05-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-21 | 2026-05-18 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-08 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-16 | 2026-04-16 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-06 | 2026-05-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-02 | 2026-03-02 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-29 | 2026-01-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-21 | 2026-01-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-14 | 2025-11-14 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-07 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-16 | 2025-10-16 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-08 | 2025-06-30 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Schwab Bond ETFs See Billions Pour In, and Here's Why
Yahoo Finance ·
The biggest August jobs beat in nearly 30 years may be less impressive than it looks: Chart of the Day
Yahoo Finance ·
Charles Schwab Sharply Raises Minimum on Tax-Smart Strategy Popular With Advisors
Yahoo Finance ·
Charles Schwab, Robinhood In Or Near Buy Zones But Interactive Brokers Triggers A Sell Signal
Yahoo Finance ·
‘Corporate America Is Basically Exterminating Your Career.” Clark Howard’s Sounds Alarm For Americans In Their 50s, Who Want To Work Till 65
Yahoo Finance ·
Charles Schwab (SCHW) Stock Looks Fully Priced After A 99% Run
Yahoo Finance ·
Schwab Imposes Stricter Limits on Tax-Aware Long-Short Accounts
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Schwab a Buy as Product Diversification Unlocks Next Growth Phase?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Charles Schwab Stock Underperforming the S&P 500?
Yahoo Finance ·
Q2 Earnings Roundup: Charles Schwab (NYSE:SCHW) And The Rest Of The Investment Banking & Brokerage Segment
Yahoo Finance ·
Charles Schwab (SCHW) Expands Crypto Offering As Investors Weigh Whether Shares Are Fully Valued
Yahoo Finance ·
Schwab Small-Cap ETF Outperforms Vanguard on One-Year Returns by Letting Sandisk Shine
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research