NYSE · Security Brokers, Dealers & Flotation Companies · CIK 0000886982
$1038.61
+0.45% · delayed 15 min
$307.92B market value
What this company does
GOLDMAN SACHS trades securities and runs financial markets.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +20.3%
$14.28B to $17.18B
Deteriorated: $31.91B wider
-$15.30B to -$47.22B
Deteriorated: -9.8%
$182.09B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$17.18B earned last year
Reported profit is running well ahead of the cash actually coming in.
$17.18B profit vs -$45.15B cash
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.1% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It earned $17.18B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 31 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $17.18B and generated -$45.15B of cash from operations.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-11 | 2026-08-11 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-03 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from GS's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 5 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 4 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: -4.6%
310.7M to 296.5M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Not enough history has been reported to judge growth.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.07 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Around average. Investors pay $17.9 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
Reported annual figures
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-27 | 2026-07-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-07-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-20 | 2026-07-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-14 | 2026-07-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-24 | 2026-06-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-03 | 2026-06-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-12 | 2026-05-11 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-04-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-20 | 2026-04-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-13 | 2026-04-13 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-20 | 2026-04-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-13 | 2026-03-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-05 | 2026-03-05 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-13 | 2026-02-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-02 | 2026-02-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-23 | 2026-01-23 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Morgan Stanley, Goldman near top roles on Anthropic’s $2tn IPO – report
Yahoo Finance ·
Goldman Sachs (GS) Partner: AI Risks Leaving the Next Generation of Bankers Unable to Think for Themselves
Yahoo Finance ·
WEG (BOVESPA:WEGE3) Stock Sees Modest Fair Value Lift As Analysts Split On Growth
Yahoo Finance ·
Anthropic Weighs Morgan Stanley And Goldman Sachs For Key Roles In $2 Trillion IPO, Says Report
Yahoo Finance ·
Market Chatter: Anthropic May Give Morgan Stanley, Goldman Sachs Key Roles in $2 Trillion IPO
Yahoo Finance ·
New York Knicks Deliver Goldman Sachs an Unexpected Win
Yahoo Finance ·
Anthropic close to awarding Morgan Stanley and Goldman Sachs top roles in $2tn IPO
Yahoo Finance ·
AI Is Moving Into Everyday Business — These 5 Stocks Sit Squarely in the Path of the Surge
Yahoo Finance ·
These AI numbers are getting crazy
Yahoo Finance ·
How Investors Are Reacting To Five9 (FIVN) Earnings Beats And Growing Optimism Around Its AI Platform
Yahoo Finance ·
C Nears China Brokerage License: Can Onshore Expansion Boost Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Goldman Sachs Says Oil Could Hit $120 as Middle East Risk Builds
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research