NYSE · Pharmaceutical Preparations · CIK 0000310158
$150.33
+1.33% · delayed 15 min
$379.74B market value
What this company does
Merck & develops and makes medicines. It took in $65.01B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 28 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From Merck & Co., Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +6.6%
$17.12B to $18.25B
Deteriorated: −1.5 pts
76.3% to 74.8%
Improved: +1.4 pts
26.7% to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$18.25B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$16.47B cash from operations
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 12% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 1% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 28 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $18.25B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 45 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 50% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $18.25B and generated $16.47B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-07 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-04 |
Financial figures are from MRK's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
5 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
-2.28
Below the threshold — nothing unusual flagged
Scores above -1.78 are the ones the model associates with earnings manipulation.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -31.7%
$18.10B to $12.36B
Deteriorated: +35.7%
$34.46B to $46.75B
Improved: +10.0%
$13.24B to $14.56B
Changed: +21.9%
$3.37B to $4.11B
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 10% and 15%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 1.3%.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 2.1 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.62 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $20.8 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Nothing unusual. Its accounting patterns look like those of companies that report earnings straightforwardly.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-28 | 2026-05-26 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-22 | 2026-05-22 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-08 | 2026-05-26 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-24 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-03 | 2026-02-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-04 | 2025-12-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-05 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-10-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-09 | 2025-09-09 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-05 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-29 | 2025-07-25 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-29 | 2025-05-27 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-02 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-24 | 2025-04-24 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2025-04-09 | 2025-05-27 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2025-02-25 | 2024-12-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Vaccines Global Market Intelligence Report 2026-2035 Featuring Bio Farma, Emergent BioSolutions, GC Pharma, GlaxoSmithKline, Janssen, Merck, Novavax, Moderna, Pfizer, Sanofi Pasteur, and Valneva
Yahoo Finance ·
Merck (MRK) Sees a More Significant Dip Than Broader Market: Some Facts to Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Merck's $8.4 Billion Keytruda Fortress Gets a 2028 Warning
Yahoo Finance ·
Summit Therapeutics Says It Is Beating Merck With Its Cancer Drug
Yahoo Finance ·
Ulcerative Colitis Market Outlook: 5 Late-Stage Drug Candidates to Watch | DelveInsight
Yahoo Finance ·
Moderna’s Cancer Vaccine Rally Sparks Rare Sell Rating and Projected 44% Stock Drop
Yahoo Finance ·
Forget the Dividend. This Could Be the Real Reason to Buy Pfizer Stock Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Moderna Just Doubled Overnight, and 2 More Healthcare Stocks Could Follow It
Yahoo Finance ·
Healthcare Stocks Pick Up Steam as Investors Play Offense and Defense
Yahoo Finance ·
Revolution Medicines Got Its Breakthrough—What Moves It Next?
Yahoo Finance ·
Could Merck (MRK) Change Cholesterol Treatment With The First Oral PCSK9 Pill?
Yahoo Finance ·
Was JNJ Stock Rally Actually Its Own?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research