NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Energy · CIK 0001090012
$49.18
-1.38% · live
Updated
$31.92B market value
From DEVON ENERGY CORP/DE's FY2025 10-K, filed Feb 18, 2026 · read the filing
DEVON ENERGY /DE drills for oil and natural gas. It took in $16.79B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 16 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability and debt, with growth worth watching.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Recent open-market selling by Lowe Robert Ferrall III, not under a pre-arranged plan.
$344.2K sold in the last 120 days · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From DEVON ENERGY CORP/DE's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Cash
$811.0M → $1.38B
Revenue
$15.92B → $16.79B
Profit
$2.89B → $2.64B
Profit margin
18.2% → 15.7%
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Feb 18, 2026
Improved: +70.7%
$811.0M to $1.38BCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
DVN fell 1.38% on the latest quote. The average Energy company tracked here moved −0.99%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is in line with its sector and in line with the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to shrink by about 1% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it shrank by about 2% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 16 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.64B last year.
Slowly. Sales grew 5.4% last year.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 1.0 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.97 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.64B and generated $6.71B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Feb 18, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Apr 21, 2026Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Apr 21, 2026Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Apr 21, 2026Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Feb 28, 2024Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $16.79B | $15.92B | $15.14B | $19.83B | $13.75B | +5.4% |
| Selling, general and administrative | $492.0M | $500.0M | $408.0M | $395.0M | $391.0M | −1.6% |
| Interest expense | $497.0M | $401.0M | $369.0M | $370.0M | $388.0M | +23.9% |
| Income before tax | $3.47B | $3.71B | $4.62B | $7.78B | $2.90B | −6.6% |
| Net income | $2.64B | $2.89B | $3.74B | $6.03B | $2.81B | −8.7% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 15.7% | 18.2% | 24.7% | 30.4% | 20.5% | −2.4 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $4.07 | $4.56 | $5.72 | $9.08 | $4.18 | −10.6% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DVNDEVON ENERGY CORP/DE · this page | 8.7/10 | 5/8 |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Sold on the open market — 6,756 shares at $50.95 ($344.2K)
Holds 72,720 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 53,979 shares
Holds 615,239 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Made a Regulation FD disclosure · Reported another event
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingWrite down why you are following DEVON ENERGY CORP/DE, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
What Is Matador Getting For All That Spending?
Yahoo ·
Devon Energy (DVN) Stock Falls Amid Market Uptick: What Investors Need to Know
Yahoo ·
What Makes Devon Energy (DVN) a Strong Momentum Stock: Buy Now?
Yahoo ·
Wall Street Bulls Look Optimistic About Devon Energy (DVN): Should You Buy?
Yahoo ·
Investors Heavily Search Devon Energy Corporation (DVN): Here is What You Need to Know
Yahoo ·
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from DVN's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Feb 18, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 8 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 8.7 | 5/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 18, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 8.7 | 4/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 19, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 7.3 | 5/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 28, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 10.0 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 15, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 10.0 | 6/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 16, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 2.0 | 4/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 17, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
5 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
2.89
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +5.4%
$15.92B to $16.79BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: -8.7%
$2.89B to $2.64BNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: −2.4 pts
18.2% to 15.7%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +5.5%
$2.96B to $3.12BNotable
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Deteriorated: -10.6%
$4.56 to $4.07Notable
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: -12.0%
$8.40B to $7.39BNotable
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Deteriorated: +2.2%
635.0M to 649.0MNotable
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 5, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +73.0%
$4.05B to $7.00BCritical
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +112.6%
$899.0M to $1.91BCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +300.0%
$589.0M to $2.36BCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: +44.1%
$1.42 to $2.04Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: -44.5%
$1.71B to $950.0MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Deteriorated: +47.6%
635.0M to 937.0MCritical
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
Improved: +5.1 pts
22.2% to 27.3%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Deteriorated: +17.8%
$8.39B to $9.89BSignificant
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Changed: +37.9%
$956.0M to $1.32BSignificant
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 5, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +55.3%
$4.51B to $7.00BCritical
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +1492.5%
$120.0M to $1.91BCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +24.6 pts
2.7% to 27.3%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +188.7%
$816.0M to $2.36BCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: +946.9%
$0.19 to $2.04Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: -46.1%
$1.76B to $950.0MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Deteriorated: +52.1%
616.0M to 937.0MCritical
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
Changed: +57.1%
$839.0M to $1.32BCritical
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Deteriorated: +33.9%
$7.39B to $9.89BSignificant
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between -3% and 1%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Opinions from 34 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 34 analysts publishing on this company, 12 say strong buy, 19 say buy, 2 say hold and 1 say sell. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 4.4% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 8.8x — investors pay $8.8 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
| 5.4% |
| 15.7% |
| 12.08x |
| 1.03x |
| COPCONOCOPHILLIPS | 8.7/10 | 6/9 | 4.9% | 15.4% | 23.20x | 0.89x |
|---|
| EOGEOG RESOURCES INC | 7.3/10 | 4/8 | -4.5% | 22.0% | 17.57x | 0.74x |
|---|
| FANGDiamondback Energy, Inc. | 10.0/10 | 5/8 | 35.8% | 11.1% | 33.72x | 0.76x |
|---|
| EQTEQT Corp | 10.0/10 | 8/9 | 63.9% | 23.6% | 16.02x | 0.61x |
|---|
| EXEEXPAND ENERGY Corp | 10.0/10 | 7/8 | 186.3% | 15.0% | 11.89x | 0.52x |
|---|
| PRPermian Resources Corp | 8.7/10 | 4/8 | 1.3% | 18.5% | 19.61x | 0.62x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 9.3/10 | — | 20.3% | 16.9% | 18.59x | 0.68x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Bought on the open market — 3,913 shares at $51.08 ($199.9K)
Holds 619,152 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 30,043 shares
Holds 79,476 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 5,567 shares
Holds 61,301 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 5,567 shares
Holds 49,243 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 5,567 shares
Holds 37,368 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 6,756 shares ($344.2K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Filed notice to sell 85,236 shares ($4.3M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Filed notice to sell 49,779 shares ($2.4M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Merger.
Filed notice to sell 35,780 shares ($1.5M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Had a director or senior officer leave or join
Quarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +73.0% · Profit margin +5.1 pts · Profit +112.6% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Took on a direct financial obligation · Reported another event
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure · Reported another event
Read the filingCompleted an acquisition or disposal · Had a director or senior officer leave or join · Amended its charter or changed its financial year · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Profit margin −8.2 pts · Profit -75.7% · Earnings per share -74.6% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue +5.4% · Profit margin −2.4 pts · Cash +70.7% — against FY2024
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingSigned a material agreement
Read the filingPrimary sources and further research