NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Insurance · CIK 0000025475
$12.04
-1.31% · live
Updated
$573.0M market value
From CRAWFORD & CO's FY2025 10-K/A, filed Mar 2, 2026 · read the filing
It took in $1.31B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 1 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is mixed, with profitability and debt needing attention and growth weaker.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Recent open-market selling by 5 insiders, not under a pre-arranged plan.
$13.1M sold in the last 120 days · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From CRAWFORD & CO's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Free cash flow
$45.4M → $94.8M
Profit
$26.6M → $19.6M
Cash
$55.4M → $64.1M
Long-term debt
$218.0M → $189.0M
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K/A filed Mar 2, 2026
Improved: +108.8%
$45.4M to $94.8MCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
CRD.B fell 1.31% on the latest quote. The average Financials company tracked here moved +1.11%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 2.4 points below its sector and in line with the market.
No filing from CRD.B and no news item about it appeared in the last 3 days.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Opinions from 11 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 11 analysts publishing on this company, 5 say strong buy, 5 say buy and 1 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 1 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $19.6M last year.
No. Sales shrank 2.2% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.29 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 73 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 14% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $19.6M and generated $101.8M of cash from operations.
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K/A · Mar 2, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K/A · Mar 3, 2025Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Mar 4, 2024Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Mar 6, 2023Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Mar 15, 2022Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $1.31B | $1.34B | $1.32B | $1.23B | $1.14B | −2.2% |
| Cost of revenue | $943.7M | $973.4M | $957.8M | $924.9M | $847.4M | −3.0% |
| Gross profit | $367.1M† | $367.5M† | $359.1M† | $306.4M† | $291.8M† | −0.1% |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 28.0% | 27.4% | 27.3% | 24.9% | 25.6% | +0.6 pts |
| Selling, general and administrative | $294.2M | $299.7M | $286.5M | $255.8M | $244.8M | −1.8% |
| Interest expense | $14.7M | $16.9M | $17.0M | $10.3M | $6.6M | −12.9% |
| Income before tax | $34.6M | $41.1M | $47.4M | $5.0M | $43.9M | −15.8% |
| Net income | $19.6M | $26.6M | $30.6M | -$18.3M | $30.7M | −26.2% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 1.5% | 2.0% | 2.3% | -1.5% | 2.7% | −0.5 pts |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRD.BCRAWFORD & CO · this page | 4.7/10 | 6/8 | -2.2% | 1.5% |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Exercised stock options — 17,959 shares at $9.22 ($165.6K)
Holds 104,354 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 12,947 shares at $12.79 ($165.6K)
Holds 91,407 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Reported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Profit margin +1.8 pts · Profit +72.8% · Long-term debt -25.7% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingWrite down why you are following CRAWFORD & CO, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Primary sources and further research
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from CRD.B's 10-K/A for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Mar 2, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 8 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 4.7 | 6/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 2, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 6.0 | 6/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 3, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 6.0 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 4, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 4.7 | 4/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 6, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 6.0 | 4/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 15, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 4.7 | 5/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 4, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -26.2%
$26.6M to $19.6MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +15.6%
$55.4M to $64.1MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: -13.3%
$218.0M to $189.0MNotable
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Changed: +12.9%
$6.2M to $7.0MNotable
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 3, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +72.8%
$7.8M to $13.4MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: -25.7%
$202.7M to $150.6MSignificant
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Improved: +18.6%
$58.5M to $69.4MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +1.8 pts
2.3% to 4.1%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 3, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +174.2%
$4.9M to $13.4MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +27.4%
$54.5M to $69.4MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +7.8%
$88.1M to $95.0MNotable
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +1.3 pts
27.5% to 28.8%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +2.5 pts
1.5% to 4.1%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
5 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
The trailing P/E is 14.9x — investors pay $14.9 for each $1 of trailing profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Reported annual figures
| 29.18x |
| 3.42x |
| ABXAbacus Global Management, Inc. | 7.3/10 | 5/9 | 110.2% | 15.5% | 22.71x | 1.14x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 7.3/10 | — | 110.2% | 15.5% | 22.71x | 1.14x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Exercised stock options — 18,005 shares at $8.60 ($154.8K)
Holds 109,412 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 12,418 shares at $12.47 ($154.9K)
Holds 96,994 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 3,305 shares at $13.36 ($44.2K)
Holds 86,395 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 975 shares at $12.96 ($12.6K)
Holds 93,632 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 3,932 shares at $13.13 ($51.6K)
Holds 89,700 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 47 shares at $13.30 ($625.10)
Holds 97,725 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 3,118 shares at $13.02 ($40.6K)
Holds 94,607 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 35,919 shares at $9.22 ($331.2K)
Holds 387,894 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 36,010 shares at $8.60 ($309.7K)
Holds 423,904 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 54,452 shares at $13.29 ($723.7K)
Holds 369,452 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 10,118 shares at $13.17 ($133.2K)
Holds 101,277 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 3,505 shares at $13.45 ($47.1K)
Holds 97,772 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,000,000 shares at $12.81 ($12.8M)
Holds 4,447,188 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 25,000 shares ($322.5K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Stock Bonus.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Published results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Held a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Free cash flow turned positive · Capital spending +91.2% · Profit -26.6% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Free cash flow +108.8% · Profit -26.2% · Cash +15.6% — against FY2024
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Free cash flow +108.8% · Profit -26.2% · Cash +15.6% — against FY2024
Read the filingPublished results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Took on a direct financial obligation
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Profit +31.3% · Cash +31.4% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2025
Cash +25.2% · Gross profit +6.9% · Profit -9.3% — against Q2 FY2024
Read the filing