Nasdaq · Services-Prepackaged Software · CIK 0000813672
$292.70
-14.01% · delayed 15 min
$79.56B market value
What this company does
CADENCE DESIGN SYSTEMS makes and sells software and computing services. It took in $5.30B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 21 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From CADENCE DESIGN SYSTEMS INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +14.1%
$4.64B to $5.30B
Improved: +5.1%
$1.06B to $1.11B
Deteriorated: −1.8 pts
22.7% to 20.9%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.11B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.73B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 6/7
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 6.46
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 17% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 12 years it grew by about 14% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 21 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.11B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.11B and generated $1.73B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from CDNS in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-29 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-27 | 2026-07-27 |
Financial figures are from CDNS's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
6 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
6.46
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +41.9%
$1.12B to $1.59B
Improved: +13.5%
$2.64B to $3.00B
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 15% and 20%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.7% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 14.1% last year.
It does not appear so. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.17 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $71.7 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-12 | 2026-05-07 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-05-12 | 2025-11-17 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-04-27 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-25 | 2026-05-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-23 | 2026-02-23 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-19 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-17 | 2026-02-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-17 | 2025-11-17 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-27 | 2025-10-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-04 | 2025-09-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-30 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-28 | 2025-07-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-28 | 2025-07-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-03 | 2025-07-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-29 | 2025-05-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-12 | 2025-05-08 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Cadence Design Systems (CDNS) Stock Still Looks Overvalued Despite AI Chip Demand
Yahoo Finance ·
Cadence Design Systems (CDNS) Following PCIe 6.0 Progress Has Fair Value Back In Focus
Yahoo Finance ·
What Sets Cadence Design Systems (CDNS) Apart After Its PCIe 6.0 Milestone?
Yahoo Finance ·
How Is Cadence Design Systems’ Stock Performance Compared to Other Application Software Stocks
Yahoo Finance ·
Cadence’s Anirudh Devgan to Present at Goldman Sachs Communacopia + Technology Conference
Yahoo Finance ·
Cadence Design Systems (CDNS) Falls More Steeply Than Broader Market: What Investors Need to Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Commvault, Sprinklr, Upland Software, Samsara, and Cadence Design Systems Stocks Trade Down, What You Need To Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Cadence Subsystem for PCIe 6.0 Architecture Achieves First-Pass PCI Express Specification Compliance
Yahoo Finance ·
Cadence Design Systems (CDNS) Is Up 10.8% After Raising Guidance On AI Agents Pivot - Has The Bull Case Changed?
Yahoo Finance ·
Cadence Design Systems Sees AI Agents Driving Chip Design Boom and Growth
Yahoo Finance ·
Synopsys Fell 11% This Year. Wall Street Expects It to Gain 50% in the Next 12 Months
Yahoo Finance ·
CEVA Stock Slides 19% in a Month: Should You Buy the Dip or Wait?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research