Nasdaq · Electric & Other Services Combined · CIK 0000072903
$75.72
-0.95% · delayed 15 min
$47.22B market value
What this company does
XCEL ENERGY supplies electricity, gas or water.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.84
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From XCEL ENERGY INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: $4.10B wider
-$2.72B to -$6.83B
Deteriorated: +16.5%
$27.32B to $31.83B
Improved: +53.1%
$179.0M
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$2.02B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$4.08B cash from operations
Clearing its debt would take many years at the current rate of cash generation.
about 8.1 years of cash flow
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.71x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.84
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 6.5% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It earned $2.02B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 64 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 31% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.02B and generated $4.08B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from XEL in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-20 | 2026-08-19 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from XEL's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
5 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
0.84
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +8.6%
574.4M to 623.6M
Changed: +48.1%
$7.36B to $10.91B
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Not enough history has been reported to judge growth.
Yes. Clearing its debt would take roughly 8.1 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.41 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $23.4 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-29 | 2026-07-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-14 | 2026-07-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-23 | 2026-06-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-22 | 2026-06-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-09 | 2026-06-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-03 | 2026-06-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-22 | 2026-05-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-11 | 2026-05-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-05-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-05-01 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-07 | 2026-05-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-03 | 2026-03-03 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-05 | 2026-02-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-02 | 2026-01-30 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is Xcel Energy a Dividend Stock Retirees Can Actually Count On?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can XEL's Strategic Capital Investments Drive Long-Term Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Xcel Energy shares update on wildfire mitigation plan, new projects
Yahoo Finance ·
Xcel Energy Stock Outlook: Is Wall Street Bullish or Bearish?
Yahoo Finance ·
Xcel Energy Foundation Celebrates 25 Years of Community Investment
Yahoo Finance ·
Options Traders: Xcel Energy (XEL) Stock Just Might Offer Robust Positive Expectancy
Yahoo Finance ·
Xcel Energy (XEL) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Xcel Energy (XEL) Appoints Delta President Peter Carter To Its Board
Yahoo Finance ·
Xcel Energy Inc (XEL) (Q2 2026) Earnings Call Highlights: Strong Earnings Growth and $10 ...
Yahoo Finance ·
Xcel Energy Inc. Q2 2026 Earnings Call Summary
Yahoo Finance ·
These 3 AI stocks are bought by both hedge funds and mutual funds
Yahoo Finance ·
Prediction: DTE Energy Will End The Year At This Price
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research