Nasdaq · Electric & Other Services Combined · CIK 0001109357
$43.64
-0.66% · delayed 15 min
$44.64B market value
What this company does
EXELON supplies electricity, gas or water. It took in $24.26B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 11 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.81
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From EXELON CORP's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +5.3%
$23.03B to $24.26B
Improved: +12.5%
$2.46B to $2.77B
Deteriorated: $747.0M wider
-$1.53B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$2.77B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$6.25B cash from operations
Clearing its debt would take many years at the current rate of cash generation.
about 8.1 years of cash flow
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.92x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.81
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.1% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 11 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.77B last year. Note that after $8.53B of spending on property and equipment, it consumed $2.27B more cash than it generated.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 58 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 26% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.77B and generated $6.25B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-25 | 2026-08-25 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from EXC's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.81
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +10.7%
$44.67B to $49.43B
Improved: +75.4%
$357.0M to $626.0M
Deteriorated: +1.8%
1.00B to 1.02B
Changed: +20.2%
$7.10B to $8.53B
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 5.3% last year.
Yes. Clearing its debt would take roughly 8.1 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.33 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $16.1 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-16 | 2026-04-13 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-18 | 2026-04-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-20 | 2026-02-20 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2026-02-12 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-02-03 | 2026-02-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-04 | 2025-12-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-26 | 2025-11-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-24 | 2025-11-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-18 | 2025-11-18 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-11-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-07-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Why Exelon (EXC) is a Great Dividend Stock Right Now
Yahoo Finance ·
EXC vs. NEE: Which Stock Is the Better Value Option?
Yahoo Finance ·
What Is Exelon (EXC) Signaling With Leadership Changes And Illinois Grid Approval?
Yahoo Finance ·
Exelon (EXC) Stock Looks Below Fair Value on Current Earnings
Yahoo Finance ·
XLU’s AI Power Story Crumbles as Texas Freezes Data-Center Demand
Yahoo Finance ·
How to Maximize Your Retirement Portfolio with These Top-Ranked Dividend Stocks
Yahoo Finance ·
PG&E Stock Is Priced For A Decision It Does Not Make
Yahoo Finance ·
PPL Stock Underperforms Industry in Six Months: How to Play?
Yahoo Finance ·
Southern's Unit Wins Regulatory Approval for OpenAI Power Deal
Yahoo Finance ·
5 Defensive Stocks to Buy as Consumer Confidence Hits 7-Month Low
Yahoo Finance ·
How Much Do You Need Invested by 55 to Retire on Dividends at 65?
Yahoo Finance ·
How Much Do You Need Invested to Out-Earn the Average American Household Income With Dividends?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research