NYSE · Telephone Communications (No Radiotelephone) · CIK 0000732712
$50.14
+0.08% · delayed 15 min
$211.07B market value
What this company does
VERIZON COMMUNICATIONS runs telephone and communications networks. It took in $138.19B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 12 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From VERIZON COMMUNICATIONS INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +354.2%
$4.19B to $19.05B
4 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$17.17B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$37.14B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$430.0M more cash than debt
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.91x cover on near-term bills
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to shrink by about 1% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 4 years it grew by about 7% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 12 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $17.17B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 67 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 31% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $17.17B and generated $37.14B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-31 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-24 | 2026-07-23 |
Financial figures are from VZ's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
5 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
1.53
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between -3% and 0%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.8% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 2.5%.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $430.0M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.35 in assets.
On the cheaper side. Investors pay $12.3 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-24 | 2026-07-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-29 | 2026-06-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-17 | 2026-06-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-02 | 2026-06-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-28 | 2026-05-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-14 | 2026-05-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-11 | 2026-05-11 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-04-27 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-06 | 2026-05-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-13 | 2026-03-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-23 | 2026-02-23 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-17 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-09 | 2026-02-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-05 | 2026-02-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-30 | 2026-01-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-30 | 2026-01-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-20 | 2026-01-20 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Verizon's Share Price Is Lower Than It Was 5 Years Ago. With Dividends Reinvested, You're Up About 24%.
Yahoo Finance ·
Which Telecom Stock Has Dominated in 2026: AT&T, Verizon, or T-Mobile? (It’s Not Even Close)
Yahoo Finance ·
Verizon Waives Charges for Hurricane Lowell, Prepares Network in Hawai'i
Yahoo Finance ·
These 2 Dividend Giants Yield Around 5%—But That’s Where the Similarities End
Yahoo Finance ·
Verizon Shares Rise 23.3% YTD: How Should You Play the Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Verizon’s Dividend Is One of the Biggest in the S&P 500—But Is It Safe?
Yahoo Finance ·
No ETFs Required: How a 64-Year-Old Built a $5,700 Monthly Paycheck From Five Dividend Stocks
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Verizon's Disaster Preparedness Boost Customer Satisfaction?
Yahoo Finance ·
Verizon to Speak at Upcoming Goldman Sachs and Citi Investor Conferences
Yahoo Finance ·
Better Telecom Stock: AT&T vs. Verizon Communications
Yahoo Finance ·
There Are Only a Handful of S&P 500 Stocks That Yield Over 5%. Here's My Top Pick to Buy in September.
Yahoo Finance ·
Ooma (OOMA) Rides A Phone Line Extinction Into Faster Growth
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research