NYSE · Telephone Communications (No Radiotelephone) · CIK 0000732717
$25.68
-1.27% · delayed 15 min
$184.34B market value
What this company does
AT&T runs telephone and communications networks. It took in $125.65B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 17 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.88
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From AT&T INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +100.5%
$10.95B to $21.95B
Improved: +8.5 pts
8.9% to 17.5%
Improved: +5.0%
$18.51B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$21.95B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$40.28B cash from operations
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.91x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.88
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 3% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 2% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 17 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $21.95B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 37 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 20% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $21.95B and generated $40.28B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-17 | 2026-08-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-03 |
Financial figures are from T's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.88
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +10.3%
$122.12B to $134.72B
Improved: +452.9%
$3.30B to $18.23B
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 0% and 5%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.6% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 2.7%.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 3.1 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.43 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
On the cheaper side. Investors pay $8.4 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-07-28 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-07-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-16 | 2026-06-11 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-20 | 2026-05-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-22 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-23 | 2026-05-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-12 | 2026-03-12 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-09 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-05 | 2026-02-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-28 | 2026-01-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-28 | 2026-01-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-03 | 2025-11-03 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-31 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-10-22 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Like Jamie Dimon, AT&T CEO says if you attend a meeting, you need to show up prepared—he ‘craves’ people who don’t just sit back and observe
Yahoo Finance ·
Dividends vs. Annuity: Which Turns $930,000 Into More Monthly Income for Life?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why AT&T (T) Dipped More Than Broader Market Today
Yahoo Finance ·
Which Telecom Stock Has Dominated in 2026: AT&T, Verizon, or T-Mobile? (It’s Not Even Close)
Yahoo Finance ·
Lowe’s Foundation launches skilled trades coalition to train 1M workers by 2035
Yahoo Finance ·
Physical AI Firm XTEND Set to Make NYSE Trading Debut: NYSE Content Update
Yahoo Finance ·
The Lowe’s Foundation wants to train 1 million craft workers
Yahoo Finance ·
Nvidia Is Now Paying to Train Plumbers, and the Stock That Should Benefit Most Just Hit a 52-Week Low
Yahoo Finance ·
Verizon Shares Rise 23.3% YTD: How Should You Play the Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Tutor Perini (TPC) Stock Trades Below Fair Value Despite A Huge Run
Yahoo Finance ·
AST SpaceMobile Stock Soared 12%—This Was the Catalyst
Yahoo Finance ·
SpaceX Briefly Reclaims $2 Trillion Market Cap: Should You Buy?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research