NYSE · Natural Gas Transmission · CIK 0001232384
$62.61
+1.21% · delayed 15 min
$65.18B market value
What this company does
TC ENERGY supplies electricity, gas or water. It took in $11.03B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 23 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.44
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From TC ENERGY CORP's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 40-F
Improved: +16.7%
$9.45B to $11.03B
Deteriorated: -25.1%
$3.40B to $2.55B
Deteriorated: −12.9 pts
36.0% to 23.1%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$2.55B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$5.32B cash from operations
Sales are growing quickly.
up 16.7% on last year
Its debt is small next to the cash the business produces.
about 0.2 years of cash flow to clear
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
36.0% → 23.1%
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.63x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.44
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.2% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 23 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.55B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 100 cents of every dollar of profit, which leaves little room for the payment to survive a bad year. It paid out 48% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
MixedNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.55B and generated $5.32B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-06-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-10 |
Financial figures are from TRP's 40-F for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. Reported in CAD and shown here in USD, the currency TRP trades in, converted at today's rate of 0.7236. The filing itself is in CAD. View the source filing.
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.44
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -79.0%
$579.6M to $121.6M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 16.7% last year.
No. Its borrowings would take under a year of cash flow to clear. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.45 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $25.6 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| 2026-07-09 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-07 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-03-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-13 | 2026-04-10 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-20 | 2026-03-20 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-20 | 2026-03-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-10 | 2026-03-10 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-13 | 2026-02-13 |
| Annual report (Canadian company)(40-F) | 2026-02-13 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-13 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-01-26 | 2026-01-23 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-01-23 | 2026-01-22 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-12-31 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-09-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-06 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-10-29 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-10-16 | 2025-10-16 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-10-10 | 2025-10-09 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-10-06 | 2025-10-06 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Worley to support next stage of Ontario pumped storage project
Yahoo Finance ·
Will Stronger Operating Trends Amid Volatile Markets Change TC Energy's (TSX:TRP) Narrative?
Yahoo Finance ·
TC Energy (TSX:TRP) Could Be 13% Undervalued After Its Recent Share Price Slide
Yahoo Finance ·
TC Energy (TSX:TRP) Stock Stays Near Fair Value On Cash Flow Questions
Yahoo Finance ·
TC Energy (TRP) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
DIVIDEND 15 SPLIT CORP. II Monthly Dividend Declaration for Class A & Preferred Share
Yahoo Finance ·
TC Energy Q2 Earnings and Revenues Beat Estimates, Rise Y/Y
Yahoo Finance ·
Is TC Energy Stock Worth Buying as Growth Meets a Premium Valuation?
Yahoo Finance ·
TC Energy Q2 Earnings Call Highlights
Yahoo Finance ·
TC Energy Corp (TRP) (Q2 2026) Earnings Call Highlights: Strong EBITDA Growth and Robust ...
Yahoo Finance ·
TC Energy (TRP) Q2 Earnings and Revenues Surpass Estimates
Yahoo Finance ·
TC Energy reports strong second quarter 2026 operating and financial results
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research