NYSE · Services-Business Services, NEC · CIK 0001408198
$573.01
+0.39% · delayed 15 min
$42.15B market value
What this company does
MSCI provides business support services. It took in $3.13B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 38 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From MSCI Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +9.7%
$2.86B to $3.13B
Improved: +8.4%
$1.11B to $1.20B
Improved: +5.5%
$1.47B to $1.55B
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.20B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.59B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 7/8
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 4.58
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.90x cover on near-term bills
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 11% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 19% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 38 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.20B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 46 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 35% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.20B and generated $1.59B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-07 | 2026-08-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from MSCI's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
4.58
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: +37.5%
$4.51B to $6.20B
Improved: +25.9%
$409.4M to $515.3M
Improved: -5.4%
77.7M to 73.6M
Changed: +16.5%
$33.8M to $39.3M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 9% and 14%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.5% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 9.7% last year.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 3.6 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $0.68 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $35.1 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-07-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-04-21 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-21 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-21 | 2026-04-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-31 | 2026-03-27 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-11 | 2026-04-21 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-06 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-28 | 2026-01-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-28 | 2026-01-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-17 | 2025-11-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-10-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-28 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-28 | 2025-10-25 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-08 | 2025-09-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-20 | 2025-08-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-08 | 2025-08-05 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-22 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-22 | 2025-07-22 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Rising Bond Yields Threaten Commercial Real Estate Recovery
Yahoo Finance ·
MSCI to Participate in Barclays Annual Global Financial Services Conference
Yahoo Finance ·
Saylor Urges MSCI to Drop 'Discriminatory' Rule That Would Delete Strategy
Yahoo Finance ·
Michael Saylor’s Strategy Calls MSCI’s New Delisting Test ‘Fundamentally Flawed,’ Says It’s Damaging ‘Its Reputation’
Yahoo Finance ·
Hotel Sales Jump 28% as Buyers Take On Renovations
Yahoo Finance ·
MSCI’s Elevated 2026 Expense Outlook Might Change The Case For Investing In MSCI (MSCI)
Yahoo Finance ·
Senior Housing Buyers Are Paying Up, But Sellers Still Need Convincing
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Wall Street Analysts Bullish on MSCI Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is MSCI (MSCI) Down 1% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Q2 Rundown: MSCI (NYSE:MSCI) Vs Other Financial Exchanges & Data Stocks
Yahoo Finance ·
Data Center Deals Propel July CRE Sales Volume To Best Performance Since 2005
Yahoo Finance ·
Insilico Medicine Included in MSCI Global Small Cap Indexes, Gaining Capital Market Endorsement in Core Strengths
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research