NYSE · Life Insurance · CIK 0001086888
$44.34
+3.70% · delayed 15 min
What this company does
MANULIFE FINANCIAL sells insurance. It took in $5.88B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 75 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From MANULIFE FINANCIAL CORP's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 40-F
Improved: +7.1%
$5.49B to $5.88B
Deteriorated: −2.9 pts
77.5% to 74.5%
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$4.38B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$23.23B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 5/5
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
77.5% → 74.5%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
22,134,305 shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 75 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $4.38B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $4.38B and generated $23.23B of cash from operations.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from MFC in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-09-03 | 2026-09-02 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-09-02 |
Financial figures are from MFC's 40-F for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the IFRS taxonomy. Reported in CAD and shown here in USD, the currency MFC trades in, converted at today's rate of 0.7236. The filing itself is in CAD. View the source filing.
5 of 5 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 4 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 7.1% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.05 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
No share price is available, so this company cannot be valued here. Valuation needs a price source — see the setup notes for adding a free key.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
Reported annual figures
| 2026-09-01 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-12 | 2026-08-12 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-06-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-06-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-06-18 | 2026-06-18 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-06-05 | 2026-06-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-26 | 2026-05-26 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-21 | 2026-05-21 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-14 | 2026-05-14 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-13 | 2026-03-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-13 | 2026-03-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company) (amended)(6-K/A) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-05-04 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-05-01 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-27 | 2026-03-27 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-20 | 2026-02-19 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2026-02-11 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2026-02-11 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2025-12-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Manulife Financial Corporation Prices U.S. Public Offering of Subordinated Notes
Yahoo Finance ·
Manulife President and Chief Executive Officer Phil Witherington to participate in fireside chat at the Scotiabank Financials Summit
Yahoo Finance ·
Manulife (MFC) Up 0% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Continue?
Yahoo Finance ·
Hormone Replacement Therapy Use Jumps 228% Among Canadian Women in Peak Working Years: Manulife Data
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Dividend Stocks Yielding Above 5% Worth Watching Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Manulife Selected for Regulators' First Cohort of GenA.I. Sandbox++ to Advance Customer Experience, Anti-Fraud and Risk Management
Yahoo Finance ·
Manulife Investments Announces August 2026 Cash Distributions for Manulife Exchange Traded Funds and ETF Series of Manulife Funds
Yahoo Finance ·
DIVIDEND 15 SPLIT CORP. II Monthly Dividend Declaration for Class A & Preferred Share
Yahoo Finance ·
CANADIAN LIFE COMPANIES SPLIT CORP. Declares Class A & Preferred Share Dividend
Yahoo Finance ·
Monthly Dividend Declaration for Class A & Preferred Share
Yahoo Finance ·
Manulife Asia wins Best Overall AI Adoption: Life/Health at 2026 Asia Consumer Insurance Awards
Yahoo Finance ·
India launches limited tax amnesty for small foreign asset disclosures
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research