TSX
C$8.25
-2.83% · delayed ~15 min
Updated
C$1.12B market value
From Sagicor Financial Company Ltd.'s FY2025 annual-report
It took in C$3.23B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 3 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is mixed, with profitability needing attention and growth and debt weaker.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
Several areas of financial weakness.
From Sagicor Financial Company Ltd.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Free cash flow
C$276.2M → -C$29.7M
Profit
C$136.8M → C$93.9M
Earnings per share
C$1.01 → C$0.69
Cash
C$621.0M → C$467.9M
Measured against FY2024, from the annual-report
Deteriorated: turned negative
C$276.2M to -C$29.7MCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
How the latest move compares (quote delayed ~15 min), and what was published around it
SFC.TO fell 2.83% on the latest quote. The S&P/TSX Composite moved −0.45%. That is 2.4 points below the market.
No filing from SFC.TO and no news item about it appeared in the last 3 days.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 3 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning C$93.9M last year. Note that operations still consumed cash despite the reported profit.
No. Sales shrank 0.6% last year.
Yes — it carries debt while operations are consuming cash rather than generating it. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.06 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned C$93.9M and generated -C$8.0M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in CAD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY2025annual-report | FY2024annual-report | FY2023annual-report | FY2022annual-report | FY2021annual-report | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | C$3.23B | C$3.25B | C$2.96B | C$367.5M | — | −0.6% |
| Selling, general and administrative | C$465.6M | C$418.8M | C$406.6M | C$369.4M | — | +11.2% |
| Interest expense | C$291.6M | C$326.6M | C$217.9M | C$141.6M | — | −10.7% |
| Income before tax | C$258.2M | C$266.8M | C$945.1M | -C$157.7M | — | −3.2% |
| Net income | C$93.9M | C$136.8M | C$746.7M | -C$230.7M | — | −31.3% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 2.9% | 4.2% | 25.2% | -62.8% | — | −1.3 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | C$0.694 | C$1.01 | C$5.29 | C$-1.62 | — | −31.3% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from SFC.TO in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Write down why you are following Sagicor Financial Company Ltd., what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
No filings found
This company has no recent filings indexed on EDGAR.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from SFC.TO's annual-report for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. Reported in USD and shown here in CAD, the currency SFC.TO trades in, converted at today's rate of 1.40. The filing itself is in USD.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 7 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
3 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Deteriorated: -31.3%
C$136.8M to C$93.9MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: -31.3%
C$1.01 to C$0.69Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: -24.6%
C$621.0M to C$467.9MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Deteriorated: −1.3 pts
4.2% to 2.9%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Changed: -11.3%
C$24.5M to C$21.7MNotable
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
The trailing P/E is 11.9x — investors pay $11.9 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Primary sources and further research