NASDAQ NMS - GLOBAL MARKET · Insurance · CIK 0001788451
$43.53
-1.56% · live
Updated
$2.84B market value
From Ethos Technologies Inc.'s FY2025 10-K, filed Mar 17, 2026 · read the filing
It took in $387.6M last year, which makes it a smaller company. Of every dollar it sells, about 18 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability and growth, with debt worth watching.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From Ethos Technologies Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Revenue
$254.9M → $387.6M
Gross profit
$248.4M → $380.9M
Operating income
$48.7M → $72.9M
Profit
$48.8M → $71.2M
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Mar 17, 2026
Improved: +52.0%
$254.9M to $387.6MCritical
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
LIFE fell 1.56% on the latest quote. The average Financials company tracked here moved +1.11%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 2.7 points below its sector and 0.5 points below the market.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Opinions from 15 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 15 analysts publishing on this company, 6 say strong buy, 8 say buy and 1 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 18 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $71.2M last year.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 52.0% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $3.80 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $71.2M and generated $36.2M of cash from operations.
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Mar 17, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Mar 17, 2026Filing for FY2024 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $387.6M | $254.9M | +52.0% |
| Cost of revenue | $6.7M | $6.5M | +3.2% |
| Gross profit | $380.9M† | $248.4M† | +53.3% |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 98.3% | 97.4% | +0.8 pts |
| Selling, general and administrative | $39.6M | $22.4M | +76.9% |
| Operating income | $72.9M | $48.7M | +49.6% |
| Operating marginOperating income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 18.8% | 19.1% | −0.3 pts |
| Income before tax | $75.7M | $53.9M | +40.4% |
| Net income | $71.2M | $48.8M | +45.7% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 18.4% | 19.2% | −0.8 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $4.27 | $3.05 | +40.3% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LIFEEthos Technologies Inc. · this page | 8.7/10 | 5/8 |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Converted a derivative security — 40,000 shares
Holds 1,577,360 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 31,900 shares at $38.94 ($1.2M)
Holds 1,545,460 shares after this filing.
12 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Reported another event
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingWrite down why you are following Ethos Technologies Inc., what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Baseten Names Sheila Vashee Chief Marketing Officer
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Ethos Technologies (LIFE) Undervalued After Strong Revenue Growth And Ongoing Losses?
Yahoo Finance ·
Ethos Technologies Highlights Why Key Sell Rules Also Apply To New IPOs
Yahoo Finance ·
Ethos (LIFE) Grows Revenue 113% While Margins Quietly Compress
Yahoo Finance ·
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from LIFE's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Mar 17, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 8 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 8.7 | 5/8 | 10-K, filed Mar 17, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 6.0 | 1/3 | 10-K, filed Mar 17, 2026 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
5 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +53.3%
$248.4M to $380.9MCritical
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +49.6%
$48.7M to $72.9MCritical
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +45.7%
$48.8M to $71.2MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: turned positive
-$11.7M to $34.7MCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: +40.3%
$3.05 to $4.27Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +159.7%
$35.1M to $91.1MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Changed: +92.1%
$776.0K to $1.5MCritical
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Deteriorated: +3.8%
16.0M to 16.6MNotable
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 5, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +113.4%
$88.8M to $189.6MCritical
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +112.2%
$87.4M to $185.5MCritical
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Deteriorated: −11.7 pts
21.2% to 9.6%Critical
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Deteriorated: −10.5 pts
20.8% to 10.3%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Deteriorated: -72.4%
$1.12 to $0.31Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: +283.7%
16.5M to 63.5MCritical
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
Improved: +39.7%
$80.3M to $112.2MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +5.8%
$18.5M to $19.5MNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 5, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: turned positive
-$163.3M to $18.1MCritical
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: turned positive
-$166.4M to $19.5MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +94.1 pts
-84.6% to 9.6%Critical
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +96.5 pts
-86.2% to 10.3%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: turned positive
-$3.46 to $0.31Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: +31.9%
48.1M to 63.5MCritical
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 22.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Trailing P/E is not meaningful because the latest trailing earnings are zero or negative. The price-to-book and price-to-sales figures below still provide reference points.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Reported annual figures
| 52.0% |
| 18.4% |
| 39.88x |
| -5.62x |
| AJGArthur J. Gallagher & Co. | 8.7/10 | 6/8 | 20.7% | 10.7% | 46.61x | 2.03x |
|---|
| BROBROWN & BROWN, INC. | 8.7/10 | 4/8 | 22.8% | 17.9% | 23.75x | 1.39x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 8.7/10 | — | 21.7% | 14.3% | 35.18x | 1.71x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Sold on the open market — 8,100 shares at $39.58 ($320.6K)
Holds 1,537,360 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 40,000 shares
Holds 1,577,360 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 8,165 shares at $37.64 ($307.3K)
Holds 1,569,195 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 31,435 shares at $38.52 ($1.2M)
Holds 1,537,760 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 400 shares at $39.12 ($15.6K)
Holds 1,537,360 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 40,000 shares
Holds 1,577,360 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 34,468 shares at $37.68 ($1.3M)
Holds 1,542,892 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 5,532 shares at $38.32 ($212.0K)
Holds 1,537,360 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 118,333 shares
Holds 1,655,876 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 22,669 shares at $37.64 ($853.3K)
Holds 1,633,207 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 94,864 shares at $38.52 ($3.7M)
Holds 1,538,343 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 800 shares at $39.14 ($31.3K)
Holds 1,537,543 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 23,334 shares
Holds 1,560,694 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 21,363 shares at $39.77 ($849.6K)
Holds 1,539,331 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,971 shares at $40.35 ($79.5K)
Holds 1,537,360 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 23,333 shares
Holds 1,560,693 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,900 shares at $37.69 ($71.6K)
Holds 1,558,793 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 21,118 shares at $38.94 ($822.3K)
Holds 1,537,675 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 315 shares at $39.67 ($12.5K)
Holds 1,537,360 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 23,333 shares
Holds 1,560,693 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 7,190 shares at $35.98 ($258.7K)
Holds 1,553,503 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 9,648 shares at $37.05 ($357.5K)
Holds 1,543,855 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 6,495 shares at $37.52 ($243.7K)
Holds 1,537,360 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 118,333 shares
Holds 1,655,876 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 7,431 shares at $38.36 ($285.1K)
Holds 1,648,445 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 110,587 shares at $39.00 ($4.3M)
Holds 1,537,858 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 315 shares at $39.67 ($12.5K)
Holds 1,537,543 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 1,605,456 shares
Holds 1,605,456 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 67,599 shares
Holds 67,599 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 24,308 shares
Holds 24,308 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 247,656 shares
Holds 247,656 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 426,482 shares
Holds 426,482 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 1,605,456 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 67,599 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 24,308 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 247,656 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 426,482 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 72,450 shares
Holds 439,877 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 55,167 shares
Holds 367,427 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 1,204,092 shares
Holds 1,204,092 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 50,699 shares
Holds 50,699 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 18,231 shares
Holds 18,231 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 185,742 shares
Holds 185,742 shares after this filing.
Converted a derivative security — 319,862 shares
Holds 319,862 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 1,204,092 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 50,699 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 18,231 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 185,742 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Reported another kind of transaction — 319,862 shares
Holds 0 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 40,000 shares ($1.5M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Exercise and Hold.
Filed notice to sell 40,000 shares ($1.5M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Exercise and Hold.
Filed notice to sell 118,333 shares ($4.5M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via RSU / Option Exercise / Founder's Shares - See Remarks.
Filed notice to sell 40,000 shares ($1.6M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Exercise and Hold.
Filed notice to sell 23,333 shares ($859.9K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Exercise and Hold.
Filed notice to sell 118,333 shares ($4.6M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via RSU / Option Exercise / Founder's Shares - See Remarks.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Quarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +113.4% · Operating margin −11.7 pts · Gross profit +112.2% — against Q2 FY2026
Published results · Reported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Revenue +103.5% · Operating margin −97.8 pts · Gross profit +103.5% — against Q1 FY2026
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue +52.0% · Gross profit +53.3% · Operating income +49.6% — against FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Amended its charter or changed its financial year
Read the filingRegistration statement for an offering of securities
Read the filingRegistration statement for an offering of securities
Read the filingRegistration statement for an offering of securities
Read the filingEthos (LIFE) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research