NYSE · Insurance Agents, Brokers & Service · CIK 0000079282
$71.42
-2.58% · delayed 15 min
$24.00B market value
What this company does
It took in $5.90B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 18 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From BROWN & BROWN, INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +22.8%
$4.80B to $5.90B
Improved: +6.1%
$993.0M to $1.05B
Deteriorated: −2.8 pts
20.7% to 17.9%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.05B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.45B cash from operations
Sales are growing quickly.
up 22.8% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
20.7% → 17.9%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 4.2% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 18 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.05B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 18 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 13% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.05B and generated $1.45B of cash from operations.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-10 | 2026-08-10 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-27 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from BRO's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
4 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +26.6%
$1.09B to $1.38B
Deteriorated: +91.6%
$3.60B to $6.89B
Improved: +59.9%
$675.0M to $1.08B
Deteriorated: +17.5%
286.0M to 336.0M
Changed: -17.1%
$82.0M to $68.0M
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 22.8% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.72 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Around average. Investors pay $22.8 for every $1 of yearly profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
At a glance
Reported annual figures
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-27 | 2026-07-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-05 | 2026-06-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-04-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-09 | 2026-04-08 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-24 | 2026-05-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-04 | 2026-02-26 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-02 | 2026-03-02 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-26 | 2026-01-26 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-28 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-27 | 2025-10-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-20 | 2025-10-17 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2025-10-09 | 2025-08-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-22 | 2025-08-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-15 | 2025-08-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-05 | 2025-08-01 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Why Is Brown & Brown (BRO) Down 0.4% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Brown & Brown Stock Outlook: Is Wall Street Bullish or Bearish?
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Reasons We Love Brown & Brown (BRO)
Yahoo Finance ·
BRO Stock Trading at a Discount to Industry at 15.04X: Time to Hold?
Yahoo Finance ·
Brown & Brown (BRO) Posted Strong Q2 Results, Is The Stock Still Undervalued?
Yahoo Finance ·
2 Mid-Cap Stocks with Exciting Potential and 1 We Question
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Aon (AON) Down 4.6% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Brown & Brown (BRO) Stock Looks Undervalued On Fair Value But Overvalued On Earnings
Yahoo Finance ·
AI and Insurance: Is Brown & Brown (BRO) Facing Extinction or Evolution?
Yahoo Finance ·
AJG's Organic Growth Resilience Supports Long-Term Expansion
Yahoo Finance ·
Goldman Sachs Reveals AI Stocks To Buy List
Yahoo Finance ·
Zacks Industry Outlook Highlights Willis Towers Watson Public, Aon, Arthur J. Gallagher and Brown and Brown
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research