NYSE · Paper Mills · CIK 0000051434
$37.24
-5.27% · delayed 15 min
$23.35B market value
What this company does
INTERNATIONAL PAPER /NEW/ makes paper and packaging. It took in $23.63B last year, which makes it a large company. It spends more than it earns — losing about 15 cents on every dollar of sales.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 1.23
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From INTERNATIONAL PAPER CO /NEW/'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +49.3%
$15.84B to $23.63B
Deteriorated: turned negative
$557.0M to -$3.52B
Improved: +1.6 pts
28.0% to
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.70B cash from operations
Sales are growing quickly.
up 49.3% on last year
It loses money, so it depends on cash reserves or new funding to keep going.
$3.52B lost last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
3.5% → -14.9%
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 1.23
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 7.4% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $3.52B last year, losing about 15 cents on every dollar of sales.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It paid a dividend while making a loss, so the payment did not come out of profits — it came from reserves, borrowing or asset sales. It paid out 58% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
WeakNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it lost $3.52B and generated $1.70B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-30 |
Financial figures are from IP's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
4 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
1.23
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: −18.4 pts
3.5% to -14.9%
Deteriorated: turned negative
$757.0M to -$159.0M
Deteriorated: +64.8%
$5.36B to $8.84B
Improved: +7.8%
$1.06B to $1.15B
Deteriorated: +39.7%
448.9M to 627.0M
Changed: +101.6%
$921.0M to $1.86B
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 49.3% last year.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 5.1 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.64 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
It has no profits to compare a price against, because it lost money last year.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-17 | 2026-07-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-11 | 2026-05-11 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-27 | 2025-12-31 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-27 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2026-02-26 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-29 | 2026-01-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-23 | 2026-01-23 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-10-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-26 | 2025-09-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-21 | 2025-08-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-21 | 2025-08-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-07 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-07-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-01 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-14 | 2025-05-12 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
International Paper (IP) Could Be 8% Undervalued On Its Margin Recovery Narrative
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Wall Street Analysts Bullish on International Paper Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
International Paper reports loss in Q2 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
International Paper Q2 Earnings Call Highlights
Yahoo Finance ·
AICC slams new containerboard price hikes
Yahoo Finance ·
IP Q2 Deep Dive: Cost Actions and Strategic Investments Offset Volume Weakness
Yahoo Finance ·
International Paper Company Q2 2026 Earnings Call Summary
Yahoo Finance ·
NFWF and Partners Announce $5 Million in Grants to Restore Forests and Wetlands in the Lower Mississippi Alluvial Valley
Yahoo Finance ·
International Paper (IP) Stock Still Looks Like A Bargain On Price Hike Scrutiny
Yahoo Finance ·
4 Very Well-Known High-Yielding Stocks to Load the Boat on Now (2 Yield Over 6%)
Yahoo Finance ·
Roblox downgraded, Quanta Services upgraded: Wall Street's top analyst calls
Yahoo Finance ·
Here Are Friday’s Top Wall Street Analyst Research Calls: Blackstone Mortgage, Boston Scientific, Edison International, Ford, GoDaddy, International Paper, Roblox, Saia, and More
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research