NYSE · Converted Paper & Paperboard Prods (No Contaners/Boxes) · CIK 0000008818
$175.06
-1.51% · delayed 15 min
$13.46B market value
What this company does
Avery Dennison makes paper and packaging. It took in $8.86B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 8 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From Avery Dennison Corp's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: +25.4%
$2.55B to $3.20B
Deteriorated: -38.4%
$329.1M to $202.8M
Improved: -3.7%
79.8M to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$688.0M earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$881.4M cash from operations
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 8% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 12 years it grew by about 12% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 8 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $688.0M last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 42 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 33% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $688.0M and generated $881.4M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-19 | 2026-08-18 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from AVY's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
5 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Changed: -19.1%
$208.8M to $169.0M
5 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 6% and 10%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.5% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 1.1%.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 4.0 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.34 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $19.6 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-04 | 2026-05-29 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-04-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-04-28 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-12 | 2026-04-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2026-02-26 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-04 | 2026-02-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-28 | 2025-09-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-10-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-02 | 2025-10-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-11 | 2025-09-08 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-29 | 2025-06-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-24 | 2025-07-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-22 | 2025-07-22 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-04-29 | 2025-03-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-28 | 2025-04-24 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Why Avery Dennison (AVY) is a Great Dividend Stock Right Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Avery Dennison Stock Outlook: Is Wall Street Bullish or Bearish?
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Reasons AVY is Risky and 1 Stock to Buy Instead
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Avery Dennison (AVY) is a Top Dividend Stock for Your Portfolio
Yahoo Finance ·
Is the Options Market Predicting a Spike in Avery Dennison Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Avery Dennison (AVY) a Solid Growth Stock? 3 Reasons to Think "Yes"
Yahoo Finance ·
Executive Sells Nearly $300,000 Worth of Avery Dennison Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
Avery Dennison Q2 Earnings Call Highlights
Yahoo Finance ·
Avery Dennison (AVY) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Rosetta Technologies Appoints Industry Veteran Ari Mellon as CEO
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Reasons Why Growth Investors Shouldn't Overlook Avery Dennison (AVY)
Yahoo Finance ·
3M's Consumer Segment Struggles Amid Soft Demand: What's Next?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research