NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Financial Services · CIK 0002012383
$1137.29
-1.07% · live
Updated
$176.36B market value
From BlackRock, Inc.'s FY2025 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2026 · read the filing
BlackRock trades securities and runs financial markets. It took in $24.22B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 23 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability and growth, with debt worth watching.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From BlackRock, Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Operating margin
37.1% → 29.1%
Profit margin
31.2% → 22.9%
Capital spending
$255.0M → $375.0M
Revenue
$20.41B → $24.22B
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Feb 25, 2026
Deteriorated: −8.0 pts
37.1% to 29.1%Critical
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
BLK fell 1.07% on the latest quote. The average Financials company tracked here moved +1.14%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 2.2 points below its sector and in line with the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Opinions from 23 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 23 analysts publishing on this company, 4 say strong buy, 16 say buy and 3 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 23 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $5.55B last year.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 18.7% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.57 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $5.55B and generated $3.93B of cash from operations.
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Feb 25, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Feb 25, 2026Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Feb 25, 2026Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Feb 25, 2025Filing for FY2022 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $24.22B | $20.41B | $17.86B | $17.87B | +18.7% |
| Selling, general and administrative | $2.73B | $2.26B | $2.09B | $2.06B | +21.0% |
| Operating income | $7.04B | $7.57B | $6.28B | $6.38B | −7.0% |
| Operating marginOperating income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 29.1% | 37.1% | 35.1% | 35.7% | −8.0 pts |
| Interest expense | $614.0M | $538.0M | $292.0M | $212.0M | +14.1% |
| Income before tax | $7.62B | $8.29B | $7.16B | $6.29B | −8.1% |
| Net income | $5.55B | $6.37B | $5.50B | $5.18B | −12.8% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 22.9% | 31.2% | 30.8% | 29.0% | −8.3 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $35.81 | $41.10 | $37.05 | $34.31 | −12.9% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BLKBlackRock, Inc. · this page | 8.7/10 | 4/7 |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Reported another kind of transaction — 1,192 shares
Holds 5,824 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 36 shares
Holds 810 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares
14 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Published results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +30.6% · Operating margin +2.8 pts · Operating income +42.2% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingWrite down why you are following BlackRock, Inc., what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 286 subsidiaries named in its 10-K, incorporated across 43 places. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from BLK's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Feb 25, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 7 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 8.7 | 4/7 | 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 7.3 | 4/7 | 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 6.0 | 3/4 | 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2025 |
| FY2022 | 6.0 | 1/2 | 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2025 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
4 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: −8.3 pts
31.2% to 22.9%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Changed: +47.1%
$255.0M to $375.0MCritical
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Improved: +18.7%
$20.41B to $24.22BSignificant
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: -24.4%
$4.70B to $3.55BSignificant
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Deteriorated: -7.0%
$7.57B to $7.04BNotable
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Deteriorated: -12.8%
$6.37B to $5.55BNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: -12.9%
$41.10 to $35.81Notable
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: -10.1%
$12.76B to $11.47BNotable
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 6, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +42.2%
$1.73B to $2.46BCritical
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +30.6%
$5.42B to $7.08BSignificant
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +20.2%
$1.59B to $1.91BSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +20.0%
$10.29 to $12.35Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +2.8 pts
31.9% to 34.7%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Deteriorated: −2.4 pts
29.4% to 27.0%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +10.7%
$9.48B to $10.49BNotable
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 6, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Deteriorated: −7.3 pts
42.0% to 34.7%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Deteriorated: −6.0 pts
33.0% to 27.0%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +5.8%
$6.70B to $7.08BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: -12.5%
$2.81B to $2.46BNotable
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Deteriorated: -13.5%
$2.21B to $1.91BNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: -13.3%
$14.24 to $12.35Notable
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +6.6%
$9.84B to $10.49BNotable
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 25.0x — investors pay $25.0 for each $1 of trailing profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Reported annual figures
| 18.7% |
| 22.9% |
| 31.76x |
| 1.94x |
| BNYBank of New York Mellon Corp | 7.3/10 | 6/7 | 7.8% | 27.6% | 18.02x | 9.65x |
|---|
| BAMBrookfield Asset Management Ltd. | 8.7/10 | 3/5 | 16.7% | 60.8% | 32.55x | 0.76x |
|---|
| STTSTATE STREET CORP | 7.3/10 | 6/6 | 7.3% | 21.1% | 15.91x | 12.15x |
|---|
| AMPAMERIPRISE FINANCIAL INC | 6.0/10 | 6/6 | 5.5% | 18.8% | 13.40x | 28.15x |
|---|
| NTRSNORTHERN TRUST CORP | 7.3/10 | 4/6 | 6.1% | 34.6% | 17.79x | 12.67x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 7.3/10 | — | 7.3% | 27.6% | 17.79x | 12.15x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Holds 1,145 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 34 shares
Holds 5,632 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 30 shares
Holds 2,092 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 27 shares
Holds 3,148 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 33 shares
Holds 2,181 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 18 shares
Holds 3,822 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 18,095 shares ($19.9M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Exercise of employee stock options.
Filed notice to sell 1,905 shares ($2.1M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Vesting.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Published results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Reported another event
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Revenue +27.0% · Operating margin +9.8 pts · Operating income +65.7% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Took on a direct financial obligation
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue +18.7% · Operating margin −8.0 pts · Profit margin −8.3 pts — against FY2024
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingPublished results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Revenue +25.2% · Operating margin −8.6 pts · Profit margin −11.1 pts — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingThe first 40 of 286. The rest are in the exhibit.
Source: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2026-02-25. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Coverage from the last 30 days
A Record 1,397 ETFs Launched Worldwide in Five Months. The Busiest Issuer Just Shut Down 13 of Its Own
Yahoo ·
Bitcoin ETFs Erase October Losses With $1 Billion in Three Days
Yahoo ·
AMG or BLK: Which Is the Better Value Stock Right Now?
Yahoo ·
Larry Fink Warns Data Center Slowdown Could Push US Into ‘Recession’ as Trump Orders Facilities to Generate Their Own Power and ‘Make Deals’
Yahoo ·
Is BlackRock Small Cap Growth Equity A (CSGEX) a Strong Mutual Fund Pick Right Now?
Yahoo ·
Bitcoin ETFs Turn October Positive With $1 Billion in Three Days While ETH Funds Bleed $1 Billion
Yahoo ·
Should You Invest in the iShares U.S. Regional Banks ETF (IAT)?
Yahoo ·
Should iShares Nasdaq Top 30 Stocks ETF (QTOP) Be on Your Investing Radar?
Yahoo ·
Should iShares Morningstar Mid-Cap Value ETF (IMCV) Be on Your Investing Radar?
Yahoo ·
Bitcoin ETFs Pull In $1.07B as Irish Drug Trafficker-Linked Wallet Moves $41M
Yahoo ·
Bitcoin Bulls Get ‘Trapped’ on Dump to $82,000: 4 Reasons Why BTC Sold Off
Benzinga ·
Senator Rand Paul Warns ‘Free’ Government Benefits Come With Higher Taxes — Says US Cannot Afford ‘Trillions More’ as Debt Tops $40 Trillion
Benzinga ·
Primary sources and further research