NYSE · Electric Services · CIK 0001692819
$149.30
+8.91% · delayed 15 min
$50.47B market value
What this company does
Vistra supplies electricity, gas or water. It took in $17.59B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 5 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.04
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From Vistra Corp.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +19.1%
$14.76B to $17.59B
Deteriorated: -64.5%
$2.66B to $944.0M
Deteriorated: −12.7 pts
18.0% to 5.4%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$944.0M earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$4.07B cash from operations
Sales are growing quickly.
up 19.1% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
18.0% → 5.4%
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.78x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.04
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.9% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 5 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $944.0M last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 32 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 8% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 7 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $944.0M and generated $4.07B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-10 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-07 | 2026-08-07 |
Financial figures are from VST's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.04
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -47.0%
$2.48B to $1.32B
Deteriorated: -33.9%
$1.19B to $785.0M
Changed: +32.4%
$2.08B to $2.75B
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 19.1% last year.
Manageable, but notable. Clearing its debt would take about 4.4 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.14 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Expensive. Investors pay $53.5 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-16 | 2026-07-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-14 | 2026-07-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-30 | 2026-06-24 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-08 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-04-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-04-22 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-18 | 2026-04-29 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-27 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2026-02-26 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-27 | 2026-01-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-09 | 2026-01-09 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-05 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-17 | 2025-12-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-17 | 2025-11-17 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-07 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-28 | 2025-10-22 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Nuclear Stock Face-Off: Is Constellation Energy or Vistra the Better Buy Right Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
Vistra’s CEO Bought $1.17 Million of Stock After the Selloff. Is AI Power Demand Mispriced?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Vistra (VST) Still Look Cheap After a Very Large Run?
Yahoo Finance ·
Peter Thiel’s Fund Disclosed $59 Million in This Beaten-Down Power Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
Bridgewater Cut Nvidia 18% and More Than Doubled Vistra. Is It Rotating From Chips to Power?
Yahoo Finance ·
Vistra CEO James Burke Buys 2,000 Shares After 29% Stock Decline
Yahoo Finance ·
Vistra Stock Is Down, But Is This Power Producer's Dip An Opportunity?
Yahoo Finance ·
Charah Solutions Adds Seasoned Energy Industry Leaders to Its Board and Strengthens Balance Sheet
Yahoo Finance ·
Vistra Won’t Stop Declining in 2026: Why Does This Prominent Wall Street Firm Expect 120% Returns?
Yahoo Finance ·
Vistra Stock Sits 37% Below Its High While Power Demand Keeps Climbing. Should You Buy It?
Yahoo Finance ·
GE Vernova vs. Vistra: The AI Power Stock to Buy Now for 2026 and Beyond
Yahoo Finance ·
CEG vs. VST: Which Nuclear Utility Stock Stands Out for Investors?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research