Nasdaq · Pharmaceutical Preparations · CIK 0000875320
$546.12
+0.82% · delayed 15 min
$138.71B market value
What this company does
VERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS / MA develops and makes medicines. It took in $12.00B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 33 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From VERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS INC / MA's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +8.9%
$11.02B to $12.00B
Improved: turned positive
-$535.6M to $3.95B
Improved: +37.8 pts
-4.9% to 32.9%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$3.95B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$3.63B cash from operations
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 14.02
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 15% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 9 years it grew by about 38% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 33 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $3.95B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $3.95B and generated $3.63B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-09-01 | 2026-08-27 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from VRTX's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
14.02
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: turned positive
-$790.3M to $3.19B
Improved: +11.3%
$4.57B to $5.08B
Improved: -1.1%
256.9M to 254.0M
Changed: +47.0%
$297.7M to $437.6M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 13% and 18%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.6% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 8.9% last year.
It does not appear so. For every $1 it owes, it owns $3.68 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $35.1 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-03 | 2026-08-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-07 | 2026-07-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-13 | 2026-05-13 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-05-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-04-28 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-02 | 2026-05-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-31 | 2026-03-31 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-13 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2026-02-12 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-03 | 2025-11-03 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-05 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-04 | 2025-08-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-19 | 2025-05-19 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-14 | 2025-05-14 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-06 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-05 | 2025-05-05 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Vertex vs. Regeneron: Which Biotech Giant Is the Better Buy Right Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
How Is Vertex Pharmaceuticals' Stock Performance Compared to Other Biotech Stocks?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Vertex (VRTX) Up 14.4% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Vertex (VRTX) Stock Trades At A Premium On Earnings Yet Looks Fair On Broader Checks
Yahoo Finance ·
Goldman Sachs refreshes conviction lists on both sides of the Atlantic
Yahoo Finance ·
Vertex Completes $10 Billion Crinetics Acquisition, Adding Rare Endocrine Growth Platform
Yahoo Finance ·
Vertex Pharmaceuticals Up 15% in a Month: How to Play the Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
Vertex Pharmaceuticals' Rally Has a New Engine -- and Wall Street Thinks the Best Is Still Ahead
Yahoo Finance ·
Vortex Energy Announces Plans for Ground Gravity Survey at the Robinsons River Salt Project
Yahoo Finance ·
2 Reasons CRISPR Therapeutics Stock Could Soar in the Final 4 Months of 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
IBB Just Beat the S&P 500 by 22 Points in Three Months. Are You Late to the Party?
Yahoo Finance ·
Vertex Pharmaceuticals (VRTX) Could Be 3% Undervalued If Its Pipeline Growth Holds
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research