NYSE · Mining & Quarrying of Nonmetallic Minerals (No Fuels) · CIK 0001396009
$262.63
-4.33% · delayed 15 min
$34.30B market value
What this company does
Vulcan Materials quarries stone, sand and minerals. It took in $7.94B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 14 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From Vulcan Materials CO's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +7.1%
$7.42B to $7.94B
Improved: +18.1%
$911.9M to $1.08B
Improved: +1.3 pts
12.3% to 13.6%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.08B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.81B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 9/9
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 3.47
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 13% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 17% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 14 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.08B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 24 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 14% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.08B and generated $1.81B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from VMC in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-29 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-29 | 2026-07-29 |
Financial figures are from VMC's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
9 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
3.47
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +40.8%
$806.1M to $1.14B
Improved: -11.1%
$4.91B to $4.36B
Deteriorated: -67.3%
$559.7M to $183.3M
Improved: -1.1%
132.1M to 130.6M
Changed: +12.3%
$603.5M to $677.7M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 10% and 15%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 4.9% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 7.1% last year.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 2.3 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.05 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $31.9 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-27 | 2026-07-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-11 | 2026-05-08 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-04-29 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-24 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-12 | 2026-03-12 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-19 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-17 | 2026-02-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-12 | 2025-12-10 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2025-12-12 | 2025-10-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-08 | 2025-12-05 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-10-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-14 | 2025-10-10 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-07-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-06-20 | 2025-06-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-12 | 2025-05-09 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Vulcan (VMC) Up 1% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Continue?
Yahoo Finance ·
Vulcan Materials (VMC) vs. MLM and EXP: Can Its Aggregates Shift Keep Lifting Margins?
Yahoo Finance ·
Vulcan Materials (VMC) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Vulcan Materials Q2 Earnings Call Highlights
Yahoo Finance ·
Vulcan Materials Co (VMC) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Highlights: Resilient Performance Amid Energy ...
Yahoo Finance ·
Vulcan Materials Stock: Analyst Estimates & Ratings
Yahoo Finance ·
VMC Q2 Beat Keeps 2026 Outlook Intact Despite Higher Energy Costs
Yahoo Finance ·
Is VMC Worth Buying as Pricing Strength Meets a Premium Valuation?
Yahoo Finance ·
Has Vulcan Materials (VMC) Run Too Far Above Fair Value?
Yahoo Finance ·
2 S&P 500 Stocks Worth Your Attention and 1 We Turn Down
Yahoo Finance ·
Will Martin Marietta's $13.5B Lhoist Deal Strengthen Long-Term Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can MLM Justify Its Premium Valuation as Earnings Growth Improves?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research