NYSE · Services-Equipment Rental & Leasing, NEC · CIK 0001067701
$1009.86
-1.98% · delayed 15 min
$63.72B market value
What this company does
UNITED RENTALS provides business and staffing services. It took in $3.69B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 67 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From UNITED RENTALS, INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: −5.1 pts
171.4% to 166.3%
Deteriorated: −4.3 pts
71.8% to 67.5%
Deteriorated: +6.2%
$13.47B
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$2.49B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$5.19B cash from operations
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 3.03
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
71.8% → 67.5%
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.94x cover on near-term bills
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 67 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.49B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 19 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 9% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 3 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.49B and generated $5.19B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-07-22 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from URI's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
4 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
3.03
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: -3.4%
65.3M to 63.1M
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 3.0%.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 3.0 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.43 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $25.5 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-18 | 2026-06-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-08 | 2026-05-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-22 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-03-31 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-25 | 2026-05-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-10 | 2026-02-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-04 | 2026-02-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-28 | 2026-01-28 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-01-28 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-01 | 2025-12-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-24 | 2025-11-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-10-22 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-07 | 2025-08-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-07-23 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-11 | 2025-07-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-06-06 | 2025-06-06 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is United Rentals (URI) Undervalued After Its Recent Pullback?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is United Rentals (URI) Still Undervalued Or Close To Fair Value?
Yahoo Finance ·
AI-Enabled Equipment Agent Bodes Well for United Rentals (URI)
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Wall Street Analysts Predicting United Rentals Stock Will Climb or Sink?
Yahoo Finance ·
Will Large Infrastructure Projects Fuel United Rentals' Fleet Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is United Rentals (URI) Down 3.9% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
United Rentals (URI) Tests Its Specialty Growth Narrative On Valuation
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Quanex Building Products (NX) Outperforming Other Construction Stocks This Year?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can KBR's $1.1B Weather Contract Strengthen Its Federal Footprint?
Yahoo Finance ·
2 Cash-Producing Stocks to Consider Right Now and 1 We Avoid
Yahoo Finance ·
Will KBR's e-NG Contract Strengthen Its Clean Energy Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Construction Partners Expands Asphalt Operations With Oklahoma Deal
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research