NASDAQ NMS - GLOBAL MARKET · Retail · CIK 0000912615
$88.29
+1.53% · live
Updated
$7.92B market value
From URBAN OUTFITTERS INC's FY2026 10-K, filed Apr 1, 2026 · read the filing
URBAN OUTFITTERS sells clothing and accessories. It took in $6.17B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 8 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by debt, with profitability and growth worth watching.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Recent open-market selling by 3 insiders, not under a pre-arranged plan.
$777.1K sold in the last 120 days · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From URBAN OUTFITTERS INC's FY2026 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2026
Capital spending
$182.6M → $260.2M
Gross profit
$1.93B → $2.22B
Operating income
$473.8M → $605.6M
Profit
$402.5M → $464.9M
Measured against FY2025, from the 10-K filed Apr 1, 2026
Changed: +42.5%
$182.6M to $260.2MCritical
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Improved: +15.1%
$1.93B to $2.22BSignificant
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
URBN rose 1.53% on the latest quote. The average Consumer Discretionary company tracked here moved +2.32%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 0.8 points below its sector and 2.6 points above the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 8% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 1% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 8 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $464.9M last year.
Slowly. Sales grew 11.1% last year.
It does not appear so. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.28 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2026 annual filing
Last year it earned $464.9M and generated $575.2M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202610-K · Apr 1, 2026Filing for FY2026 | FY202510-K · Apr 1, 2025Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Apr 1, 2024Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Apr 3, 2023Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Apr 1, 2022Filing for FY2022 | ChangeFY2026 vs FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $6.17B | $5.55B | $5.15B | $4.80B | $4.55B | +11.1% |
| Cost of revenue | $3.95B | $3.62B | $3.43B | $3.36B | $3.05B | +9.0% |
| Gross profit | $2.22B | $1.93B | $1.72B | $1.43B | $1.49B | +15.1% |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 36.0% | 34.7% | 33.3% | 29.8% | 32.8% | +1.3 pts |
| Selling, general and administrative | $1.61B | $1.45B | $1.34B | $1.20B | $1.09B | +11.0% |
| Operating income | $605.6M | $473.8M | $369.8M | $226.6M | $408.6M | +27.8% |
| Operating marginOperating income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 9.8% | 8.5% | 7.2% | 4.7% | 9.0% | +1.3 pts |
| Interest expense | $4.9M | $6.1M | $7.7M | $1.3M | $1.1M | −19.0% |
| Income before tax | $596.9M | $500.2M | $381.6M | $221.3M | $404.6M | +19.3% |
| Net income | $464.9M | $402.5M | $287.7M | $159.7M | $310.6M | +15.5% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 7.5% | 7.3% | 5.6% | 3.3% | 6.8% | +0.3 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $5.18 | $4.36 | $3.10 | $1.73 | $3.22 | +18.8% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| URBNURBAN OUTFITTERS INC · this page | 7.3/10 | 8/8 |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Sold on the open market — 5,000 shares at $87.06 ($435.3K)
Holds 494,315 shares after this filing.
Gifted shares — 236 shares
Holds 17,358,215 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Quarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +10.4% · Operating margin +5.8 pts · Operating income +65.6% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingWrite down why you are following URBAN OUTFITTERS INC, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 52 subsidiaries named in its 10-K, incorporated across 25 places. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from URBN's 10-K for fiscal year 2026 (period ending 2026-01-31, filed Apr 1, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 8 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026 | 7.3 | 8/8 | 10-K, filed Apr 1, 2026 |
| FY2025 | 7.3 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Apr 1, 2025 |
| FY2024 | 7.3 | 6/8 | 10-K, filed Apr 1, 2024 |
| FY2023 | 6.0 | 5/8 | 10-K, filed Apr 3, 2023 |
| FY2022 | 7.3 | 7/8 | 10-K, filed Apr 1, 2022 |
| FY2021 | 4.7 | 4/8 | 10-K, filed Apr 1, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
8 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
4.74
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2026 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +27.8%
$473.8M to $605.6MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +15.5%
$402.5M to $464.9MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +18.8%
$4.36 to $5.18Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +27.1%
$290.5M to $369.2MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +11.1%
$5.55B to $6.17BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: +1.3 pts
34.7% to 36.0%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +1.3 pts
8.5% to 9.8%Notable
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: -2.8%
92.3M to 89.7MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Sep 9, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +65.6%
$174.4M to $288.7MCritical
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +67.3%
$143.9M to $240.7MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +75.2%
$1.60 to $2.81Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +80.3%
$332.2M to $598.8MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +27.4%
$566.2M to $721.6MSignificant
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +5.8 pts
37.6% to 43.4%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +5.8 pts
11.6% to 17.4%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +4.9 pts
9.6% to 14.5%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +10.4%
$1.50B to $1.66BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: -4.5%
89.7M to 85.7MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Sep 9, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +106.7%
$139.7M to $288.7MCritical
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +108.0%
$115.7M to $240.7MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +107.9%
$1.35 to $2.81Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +98.7%
$301.4M to $598.8MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +33.0%
$542.6M to $721.6MSignificant
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +6.8 pts
36.6% to 43.4%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +7.9 pts
9.4% to 17.4%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +6.7 pts
7.8% to 14.5%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +12.2%
$1.48B to $1.66BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 6% and 10%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Opinions from 22 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 22 analysts publishing on this company, 4 say strong buy, 9 say buy and 9 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 7.9% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 12.8x — investors pay $12.8 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
| 11.1% |
| 7.5% |
| 17.03x |
| 0.78x |
| TJXTJX COMPANIES INC /DE/ | 8.0/10 | 7/9 | 7.1% | 9.1% | 29.70x | 2.51x |
|---|
| ROSTROSS STORES, INC. | 8.0/10 | 7/9 | 7.7% | 9.4% | 35.56x | 1.51x |
|---|
| GAPGAP INC | 7.3/10 | 6/9 | 1.9% | 5.3% | 10.44x | 2.32x |
|---|
| ANFABERCROMBIE & FITCH CO /DE/ | 6.0/10 | 5/8 | 6.4% | 9.6% | 14.31x | 1.52x |
|---|
| AEOAMERICAN EAGLE OUTFITTERS INC | 8.0/10 | 5/9 | 4.1% | 3.5% | 15.74x | 1.37x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 8.0/10 | — | 6.4% | 9.1% | 15.74x | 1.52x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Gifted shares — 236 shares
Holds 1,208,173 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 3,500 shares at $75.95 ($265.8K)
Holds 30,112 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 5,700 shares at $80.75 ($460.3K)
Holds 11,323 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 650 shares at $78.48 ($51.0K)
Holds 15,700 shares after this filing.
Gifted shares — 62,100 shares
Holds 17,371,785 shares after this filing.
Gifted shares — 13,334 shares
Holds 17,358,451 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 38,820 shares ($3.9M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via STOCK GRANTS, ACQUIRED VIA VARIOUS DATES.
Filed notice to sell 3,500 shares ($265.8K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Filed notice to sell 5,700 shares ($460.3K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Filed notice to sell 650 shares ($51.0K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Quarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Revenue +11.4% · Free cash flow $164.6M wider · Cash +59.1% — against Q1 FY2025
Held a shareholder vote
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Took on a direct financial obligation
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2026
Revenue +11.1% · Operating margin +1.3 pts · Capital spending +42.5% — against FY2025
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Revenue +12.3% · Cash +68.0% · Earnings per share +16.4% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2025
Revenue +11.3% · Cash +58.8% · Operating income +20.2% — against Q2 FY2024
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2025
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue +7.7% · Operating margin +1.4 pts · Earnings per share +40.7% — against FY2024
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingThe first 40 of 52. The rest are in the exhibit.
Source: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2026-04-01. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is Starbucks (SBUX) Outperforming Other Retail-Wholesale Stocks This Year?
Yahoo ·
Tapestry's Coach Brand Powers Growth With Strong Consumer Appeal
Yahoo ·
Can Abercrombie's Target Partnership Fuel Hollister's Growth?
Yahoo ·
CRM Stock Falls: Salesforce Strikes $5.66B Braze Deal To Strengthen AI Marketing Push
Yahoo ·
Urban Outfitters' Brand Momentum Sets the Stage for Continued Growth
Yahoo ·
Urban Outfitters: Nuuly Is More Valuable Than Its Margins Suggest
SeekingAlpha ·
Wolverine's Strong Portfolio Anchors Its Improving Growth Prospects
Yahoo ·
This MannKind Analyst Begins Coverage On A Bullish Note; Here Are Top 5 Initiations For Monday
Benzinga ·
Apple, Salesforce Lead Five Stocks Near Buy Points
Yahoo ·
Coca-Cola, Visa and Mastercard Hit Records as Investors Rotate Out of Chip Stocks
Yahoo ·
Soured On Techs? These Consumer Stocks Trade Near Buy Points
Yahoo ·
Stock Market Leaders Tend To Flock Together. Here's Where To Find Them.
Yahoo ·
Primary sources and further research