Nasdaq · Miscellaneous Publishing · CIK 0001075124
$105.68
-0.52% · delayed 15 min
What this company does
THOMSON REUTERS /CAN/ publishes and prints. It took in $7.48B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 20 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From THOMSON REUTERS CORP /CAN/'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 40-F
Deteriorated: -31.9%
$2.21B to $1.50B
Deteriorated: −10.3 pts
30.4% to 20.1%
Improved: +9.0%
$1.85B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.50B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$2.65B cash from operations
Its debt is small next to the cash the business produces.
about 0.6 years of cash flow to clear
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
30.4% → 20.1%
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.64x cover on near-term bills
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
12,732,006 shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 20 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.50B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.50B and generated $2.65B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from TRI in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-06 | 2026-06-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-05 |
Financial figures are from TRI's 40-F for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the IFRS taxonomy. View the source filing.
5 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
2.00
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.9 is safe and below 1.23 is distress. No share price was available, so this is Altman's book-value revision — companies that have bought back a lot of stock score lower on it.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: -28.1%
$1.85B to $1.33B
Deteriorated: -74.0%
$1.97B to $511.0M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 3.0% last year.
No. Its borrowings would take under a year of cash flow to clear. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.98 in assets.
No share price is available, so this company cannot be valued here. Valuation needs a price source — see the setup notes for adding a free key.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| 2026-08-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-14 | 2026-07-14 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-06-11 | 2026-06-11 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-03-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-05-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-05-04 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-04 | 2026-05-01 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-04-28 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-16 | 2026-04-15 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-14 | 2026-04-14 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-16 | 2026-03-13 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-05 | 2026-03-05 |
| Annual report (Canadian company)(40-F) | 2026-03-05 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-04 | 2026-03-04 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-02 | 2026-03-02 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2026-02-25 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-05 | 2026-02-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2025-11-14 | 2025-11-14 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is Thomson Reuters (TSX:TRI) Building a Defensible Edge by Owning Its Own Legal AI?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Thomson Reuters' Recurring Model and AI Expansion Sustain Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Intuit Stock Still Carries The Same Swing It Just Delivered
Yahoo Finance ·
Snowflake (SNOW) Stock Soars 16% After Q2 Earnings: Is It Still a Buy?
Yahoo Finance ·
Get Paid 12% A Year To Wait For INTU Stock To Go On Sale
Yahoo Finance ·
Intuit's TurboTax Live: Can Assisted Tax Sustain the Momentum?
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why You Should Hold Charles River Stock in Your Portfolio Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Intuit's Real Problem Is Not On Its Income Statement
Yahoo Finance ·
Thomson Reuters (TSX:TRI) Stock Could Trade Below Fair Value Today
Yahoo Finance ·
Thomson Reuters (TSX:TRI) Climbed, What Is Behind The Fresh Attention?
Yahoo Finance ·
What Is Thomson Reuters (TSX:TRI) Trying To Prove With Its New AI Model?
Yahoo Finance ·
Thomson Reuters Leverages its World-Class Data Assets to Launch Its Own Frontier Model
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research