NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Retail · CIK 0000027419
$158.11
+3.76% · live
Updated
$71.60B market value
From TARGET CORP's FY2026 10-K, filed Mar 11, 2026 · read the filing
TARGET runs general merchandise and department stores. It took in $104.78B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 4 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by debt, with profitability worth watching, while growth remain weak.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Recent open-market selling by 3 insiders, not under a pre-arranged plan.
$11.0M sold in the last 120 days · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From TARGET CORP's FY2026 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2026
Free cash flow
$4.48B → $2.83B
Cash
$4.76B → $5.49B
Capital spending
$2.89B → $3.73B
Operating income
$5.57B → $5.12B
Measured against FY2025, from the 10-K filed Mar 11, 2026
Deteriorated: -36.7%
$4.48B to $2.83BSignificant
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
TGT rose 3.76% on the latest quote. The average Consumer Discretionary company tracked here moved +2.28%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 1.5 points above its sector and 4.8 points above the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.8% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 4 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $3.71B last year.
No. Sales shrank 1.7% last year.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 1.7 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.37 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 55 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 31% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2026 annual filing
Last year it earned $3.71B and generated $6.56B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202610-K · Mar 11, 2026Filing for FY2026 | FY202510-K · Mar 12, 2025Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Mar 12, 2025Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Mar 12, 2025Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Mar 8, 2023Filing for FY2022 | ChangeFY2026 vs FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $104.78B | $106.57B | $107.41B | $109.12B | $106.00B | −1.7% |
| Cost of revenue | $75.51B | $76.50B | $77.83B | $82.31B | $74.96B | −1.3% |
| Gross profit | $29.27B† | $30.06B† | $29.58B† | $26.81B† | $31.04B† | −2.6% |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 27.9% | 28.2% | 27.5% | 24.6% | 29.3% | −0.3 pts |
| Selling, general and administrative | $21.54B | $21.97B | $21.46B | $20.58B | $19.75B | −2.0% |
| Operating income | $5.12B | $5.57B | $5.71B | $3.85B | $8.95B | −8.1% |
| Operating marginOperating income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 4.9% | 5.2% | 5.3% | 3.5% | 8.4% | −0.3 pts |
| Interest expense | $445.0M | $411.0M | $502.0M | $478.0M | $421.0M | +8.3% |
| Income before tax | $4.77B | $5.26B | $5.30B | $3.42B | $8.91B | −9.4% |
| Net income | $3.71B | $4.09B | $4.14B | $2.78B | $6.95B | −9.4% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 3.5% | 3.8% | 3.9% | 2.5% | 6.6% | −0.3 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $8.18 | $8.98 | $8.96 | $6.04 | $14.74 | −8.9% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 7,636 shares at $157.94 ($1.2M)
Holds 83,823 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 2,142 shares
Holds 2,142 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Quarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +5.3% · Operating margin +4.4 pts · Operating income +94.4% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingWrite down why you are following TARGET CORP, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Target (TGT) Unveiled A New Manhattan Flagship Level
Yahoo Finance ·
Are You Overpaying For Target Stock Versus Its Rivals?
Yahoo Finance ·
Ulta Beauty's website traffic just surged a whopping 48%
Yahoo Finance ·
Target Completes SoHo Store Transformation, Bringing Style and Design to Every Target Run
Yahoo Finance ·
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from TGT's 10-K for fiscal year 2026 (period ending 2026-01-31, filed Mar 11, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 9 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026 | 6.0 | 5/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 11, 2026 |
| FY2025 | 6.0 | 7/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 12, 2025 |
| FY2024 | 6.0 | 7/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 13, 2024 |
| FY2023 | 4.7 | 5/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 8, 2023 |
| FY2022 | 7.3 | 7/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 9, 2022 |
| FY2021 | 8.7 | 7/9 | 10-K, filed Mar 10, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
5 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
1.34
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2026 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +15.2%
$4.76B to $5.49BSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Changed: +28.9%
$2.89B to $3.73BSignificant
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Deteriorated: -8.1%
$5.57B to $5.12BNotable
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Deteriorated: -9.4%
$4.09B to $3.71BNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: -8.9%
$8.98 to $8.18Notable
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 28, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +94.4%
$1.32B to $2.56BCritical
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +100.7%
$935.0M to $1.88BCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +100.8%
$2.06 to $4.13Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +22.3%
$7.31B to $8.94BSignificant
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +4.7 pts
29.0% to 33.7%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +4.4 pts
5.2% to 9.6%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +3.4 pts
3.7% to 7.1%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +24.6%
$4.34B to $5.41BSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +5.3%
$25.21B to $26.54BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Improved: -7.2%
$15.32B to $14.22BNotable
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 28, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +125.6%
$1.14B to $2.56BCritical
Why it matters: Profit from running the business, before interest and tax. Less exposed than profit to one-off financing and tax items, so a clearer read on the business itself.
Improved: +140.3%
$781.0M to $1.88BCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +140.3%
$1.72 to $4.13Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +53.1%
$3.53B to $5.41BCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +21.1%
$7.38B to $8.94BSignificant
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +4.7 pts
29.0% to 33.7%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +5.2 pts
4.5% to 9.6%Significant
Why it matters: What survives each sale after running the business. A falling operating margin beside a steady gross margin points at overheads — wages, marketing, research — rather than pricing.
Improved: +4.0 pts
3.1% to 7.1%Significant
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
8 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 16.3x — investors pay $16.3 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Was granted or awarded shares — 23,787 shares
Holds 25,929 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 50,000 shares at $163.56 ($8.2M)
Holds 143,270 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 15,500 shares at $169.96 ($2.6M)
Holds 56,981 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 926 shares at $163.51 ($151.4K)
Holds 12,266 shares after this filing.
Was granted or awarded shares — 1,007 shares
Holds 1,007 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 50,000 shares ($8.5M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Filed notice to sell 15,500 shares ($2.6M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Filed notice to sell 926 shares ($151.4K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Filed notice to sell 7,000 shares ($966.5K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Signed a material agreement · Terminated a material agreement · Took on a direct financial obligation
Had a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Held a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Revenue +6.7% · Operating margin −1.7 pts · Operating income -22.9% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2026
Free cash flow -36.7% · Cash +15.2% · Capital spending +28.9% — against FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Operating income -18.8% · Profit -19.3% · Earnings per share -18.2% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Terminated a material agreement · Took on a direct financial obligation
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingKohl's and Target just gave stock investors something to watch
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research