NYSE · Petroleum Refining · CIK 0000311337
$67.33
+2.90% · delayed 15 min
$80.36B market value
What this company does
SUNCOR ENERGY refines oil into fuel and related products. It took in $37.90B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 11 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From SUNCOR ENERGY INC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 40-F
Improved: -4.1%
1.24B to 1.19B
5 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$4.28B earned last year
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 4.6% on last year
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 11 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $4.28B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 47 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It has paid in each of the last 10 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $4.28B.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-06 | 2026-08-06 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-05 |
Financial figures are from SU's 40-F for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the IFRS taxonomy. Reported in CAD and shown here in USD, the currency SU trades in, converted at today's rate of 0.7236. The filing itself is in CAD. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
4 of 6 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 3 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 4.6% last year.
It does not appear so. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.01 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $18.8 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| 2026-08-04 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-08-04 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-04 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-07-21 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-14 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-05-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-05-05 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-04-21 | 2026-04-21 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-31 | 2026-03-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-31 | 2026-03-30 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-26 | 2026-03-26 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-03-18 | 2026-03-17 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-27 | 2026-02-26 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2026-02-26 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2026-02-26 |
| Annual report (Canadian company)(40-F) | 2026-02-26 | 2025-12-31 |
| Interim update (foreign company)(6-K) | 2026-02-04 | 2026-02-04 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Which TSX stocks investors will be watching next week?
Yahoo Finance ·
Suncor Energy (SU) Up 8.9% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Continue?
Yahoo Finance ·
Suncor (SU) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Sector Update: Energy
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Schneider Electric (ENXTPA:SU) Overvalued After A 108% Five Year Return?
Yahoo Finance ·
How Cenovus' Low-Cost Base and Downstream Integration Offer Resilience
Yahoo Finance ·
An Oil Catastrophe Was Averted in 2026. What If It Comes in 2027?
Yahoo Finance ·
CNQ Raises 2026 Production Outlook While Holding Core Capital Flat
Yahoo Finance ·
5 Energy Stocks Breaking Out As Iran Ceasefire Ends, Oil Prices Keep Rising
Yahoo Finance ·
CVE Rallies 13.7% in the Past Month. Can the Stock Keep Climbing?
Yahoo Finance ·
Should Suncor Energy (TSX:SU) Investors Expect A New Direction Under Peter Zebedee?
Yahoo Finance ·
Suncor Boosts Buybacks as Record Cash Flow Supports Bigger Returns
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research