NYSE · Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware · CIK 0000091440
$383.00
-2.26% · delayed 15 min
$19.88B market value
What this company does
Snap-on makes metal parts and products. It took in $4.71B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 22 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From Snap-on Inc's FY2026 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +19.4%
$1.36B to $1.62B
Improved: -1.5%
52.7M to 51.9M
4 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.02B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.08B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$438.1M more cash than debt
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 7.79
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 6.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 22 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.02B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 45 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 43% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2026 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.02B and generated $1.08B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-07-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-07-23 |
Financial figures are from SNA's 10-K for fiscal year 2026 (period ending 2026-01-03), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
7.79
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2026 filing as filed with the SEC.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 0.7%.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $438.1M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $3.43 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $19.6 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-04-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-04-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-04-23 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-12 | 2026-01-03 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2026-01-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-05 | 2026-02-05 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-16 | 2025-09-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-16 | 2025-10-16 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-17 | 2025-06-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-17 | 2025-07-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-28 | 2025-04-24 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-04-17 | 2025-03-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-17 | 2025-04-17 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2025-03-12 | 2024-12-28 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2025-02-13 | 2024-12-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-02-06 | 2025-02-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2024-10-17 | 2024-09-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2024-10-17 | 2024-10-17 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Spotting Winners: Snap-on (NYSE:SNA) And Professional Tools and Equipment Stocks In Q2
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Snap-on's RCI Execution and Innovation Sustain Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Snap-on Incorporated Declares Quarterly Dividend
Yahoo Finance ·
Snap-On (SNA) International Revenue Performance Explored
Yahoo Finance ·
Snap On (SNA) Earnings Put Valuation Back In Focus
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Wall Street Analysts Bullish on Snap-on Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Snap-on's Diesel Laptops Deal Accelerate Its Diagnostics Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Snap-on Stock a Buy as Strong Margins Meet a Premium Valuation?
Yahoo Finance ·
2 Cash-Producing Stocks to Research Further and 1 We Avoid
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Reasons SNA is Risky and 1 Stock to Buy Instead
Yahoo Finance ·
Snap On (SNA) Beat Expectations, Is The Stock Fully Priced?
Yahoo Finance ·
1 Mid-Cap Stock for Long-Term Investors and 2 That Underwhelm
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research