NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Energy · CIK 0000797468
$62.50
-0.32% · live
Updated
$61.63B market value
From OCCIDENTAL PETROLEUM CORP /DE/'s FY2025 10-K, filed Feb 18, 2026 · read the filing
OCCIDENTAL PETROLEUM /DE/ drills for oil and natural gas. It took in $21.57B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 11 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability and debt, while growth remain weak.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From OCCIDENTAL PETROLEUM CORP /DE/'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Profit
$3.08B → $2.37B
Free cash flow
$5.18B → $4.11B
Earnings per share
$3.28 → $2.40
Long-term debt
$25.32B → $21.40B
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Feb 18, 2026
Deteriorated: -23.0%
$3.08B to $2.37BSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
OXY fell 0.32% on the latest quote. The average Energy company tracked here moved −1.03%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 0.7 points above its sector and 0.7 points above the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Opinions from 31 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 31 analysts publishing on this company, 4 say strong buy, 11 say buy and 16 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 11 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.37B last year.
No. Sales shrank 5.0% last year.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 2.0 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.75 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.37B and generated $10.53B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Feb 18, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Feb 18, 2026Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Feb 18, 2026Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Feb 27, 2023Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Feb 27, 2023Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $21.57B | $22.71B | $23.23B | $36.23B | $25.96B | −5.0% |
| Cost of revenue | — | $3.12B | $3.12B | $3.27B | $2.77B | — |
| Gross profit | — | $19.59B† | $20.11B† | $32.96B† | $23.19B† | — |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | — | 86.3% | 86.6% | 91.0% | 89.3% | — |
| Selling, general and administrative | $986.0M | $960.0M | $987.0M | $945.0M | $863.0M | +2.7% |
| Interest expense | $1.08B | $1.17B | $957.0M | $1.03B | $1.61B | −7.7% |
| Income before tax | $3.13B | $4.02B | $4.66B | $14.12B | $3.71B | −22.3% |
| Net income | $2.37B | $3.08B | $4.70B | $13.30B | $2.32B | −23.0% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 11.0% | 13.6% | 20.2% | 36.7% | 8.9% | −2.6 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $2.40 | $3.28 | $5.34 | $14.78 | $2.49 | −26.7% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OXYOCCIDENTAL PETROLEUM CORP /DE/ · this page | 7.3/10 | 4/8 |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 4,124 shares at $55.32 ($228.1K)
Holds 439,974 shares after this filing.
Gifted shares — 90,000 shares
Holds 974,835 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Published results
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +36.6% · Profit margin +33.4 pts · Profit +540.2% — against Q2 FY2026
Read the filingWrite down why you are following OCCIDENTAL PETROLEUM CORP /DE/, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 422 subsidiaries named in its 10-K, incorporated across 33 places. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from OXY's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Feb 18, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 8 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 7.3 | 4/8 | 10-K, filed Feb 18, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 8.0 | 4/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 18, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 8.0 | 5/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 14, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 10.0 | 8/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 27, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 8.0 | 9/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 24, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 4.0 | 4/9 | 10-K, filed Feb 26, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
4 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
1.92
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -20.7%
$5.18B to $4.11BSignificant
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Deteriorated: -26.7%
$3.28 to $2.40Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: -15.5%
$25.32B to $21.40BSignificant
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Deteriorated: +5.1%
938.5M to 986.0MSignificant
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
Deteriorated: -5.0%
$22.71B to $21.57BNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: −2.6 pts
13.6% to 11.0%Notable
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Deteriorated: -7.4%
$2.13B to $1.97BNotable
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 5, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +540.2%
$468.0M to $3.00BCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +33.4 pts
9.1% to 42.5%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +530.4%
$0.48 to $3.00Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: -42.0%
$23.34B to $13.54BCritical
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Improved: +79.3%
$2.31B to $4.15BCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +36.6%
$5.16B to $7.05BSignificant
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: +1.6%
984.4M to 999.7MNotable
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 5, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Deteriorated: −17.8 pts
60.3% to 42.5%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +26.6%
$5.57B to $7.05BSignificant
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: -10.8%
$3.36B to $3.00BNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: -11.6%
$3.39 to $3.00Notable
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: -11.2%
$15.25B to $13.54BNotable
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Improved: +8.9%
$3.81B to $4.15BNotable
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 8.0x — investors pay $8.0 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
| -5.0% |
| 11.0% |
| 26.01x |
| 1.34x |
| XOMExxonMobil Holdings Corp | 7.0/10 | 5/9 | -4.5% | 8.9% | 25.82x | 0.70x |
|---|
| CVXCHEVRON CORP | 7.0/10 | 6/9 | -4.6% | 6.7% | 32.45x | 0.71x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 7.0/10 | — | -4.6% | 7.8% | 29.14x | 0.71x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Was granted or awarded shares — 26,284 shares
Holds 42,660 shares after this filing.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Published results
Published results
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Profit margin +44.1 pts · Profit +255.4% · Free cash flow turned negative — against Q1 FY2026
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Held a shareholder vote · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Changed the rights attached to its shares · Reported another event
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue -5.0% · Profit margin −2.6 pts · Profit -23.0% — against FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingCompleted an acquisition or disposal · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Profit margin −3.6 pts · Profit -26.1% · Earnings per share -29.7% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingSigned a material agreement
Read the filingThe first 40 of 422. The rest are in the exhibit.
Source: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2026-02-18. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Occidental Petroleum Corporation (OXY) is Attracting Investor Attention: Here is What You Should Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Surging Earnings Estimates Signal Upside for Occidental (OXY) Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
OXY or DTM: Which Is the Better Value Stock Right Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Investors Undervaluing Occidental Petroleum (OXY) Right Now?
Yahoo Finance ·
Will Occidental (OXY) Beat Estimates Again in Its Next Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Should You Buy Occidental Petroleum Stock For Its Cash?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Occidental Petroleum Stock A Good Fit For Your Portfolio?
Yahoo Finance ·
Chevron vs. Occidental Petroleum: Which Energy Stock Is a Better Buy in 2026?
Yahoo Finance ·
Occidental Petroleum (OXY) Gains As Market Dips: What You Should Know
Yahoo Finance ·
10 S&P 500 Stocks Seeing The Biggest Estimate Hikes Ahead Of Earnings
Yahoo Finance ·
5 Value Stocks With Attractive EV-to-EBITDA Ratios to Scoop Up
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Exxon Mobil's Next Big Thing Already Here?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research