Nasdaq · Trucking (No Local) · CIK 0000878927
$185.87
-6.42% · delayed 15 min
$38.76B market value
What this company does
OLD DOMINION FREIGHT LINE moves freight by road and runs warehouses. It took in $5.50B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 19 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From OLD DOMINION FREIGHT LINE, INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -5.5%
$5.81B to $5.50B
Deteriorated: -13.7%
$1.19B to $1.02B
Deteriorated: −1.8 pts
20.4% to 18.6%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.02B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.37B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$100.1M more cash than debt
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 8.25
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 5.5% on last year
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 15% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 26% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 19 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.02B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 23 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 17% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 9 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.02B and generated $1.37B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-09-03 | 2026-09-03 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from ODFL's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
5 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
8.25
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +7.6%
$888.0M to $955.1M
Improved: +10.5%
$108.7M to $120.1M
Improved: -2.1%
213.0M to 208.6M
Changed: -46.2%
$771.3M to $415.0M
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 12% and 17%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.5% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 5.5% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $100.1M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $4.72 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $37.9 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-29 | 2026-07-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-07-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-03 | 2026-06-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-21 | 2026-05-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-06 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-29 | 2026-04-29 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-20 | 2026-05-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-03 | 2026-03-03 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-24 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-04 | 2026-02-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-09 | 2025-12-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-02 | 2025-12-02 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-10-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-23 | 2025-10-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-04 | 2025-09-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-30 | 2025-07-30 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Old Dominion Freight Line (ODFL) Stock May Trade At A Premium As Baton Rouge Expansion Starts
Yahoo Finance ·
Old Dominion Freight Line (ODFL) Faces A 19% Undervalued View, Is The Selloff Overdone?
Yahoo Finance ·
Down 12.1% in 4 Weeks, Here's Why You Should You Buy the Dip in Old Dominion (ODFL)
Yahoo Finance ·
Old Dominion Freight Line Releases 2025 Sustainability Data Supplement
Yahoo Finance ·
Old Dominion Freight Line to develop $10M service center in Louisiana
Yahoo Finance ·
Old Dominion Unveils Solid LTL Unit Performance for August
Yahoo Finance ·
Old Dominion’s August: Some good, some OK
Yahoo Finance ·
1 Large-Cap Stock with Competitive Advantages and 2 We Find Risky
Yahoo Finance ·
Old Dominion EPS Estimates Northbound: How to Play the Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Reasons to Sell ODFL and 1 Stock to Buy Instead
Yahoo Finance ·
Old Dominion Freight Line Stock Outlook: Is Wall Street Bullish or Bearish?
Yahoo Finance ·
Diesel Prices Surge to Record High and J.B. Hunt and Other Freight Stocks Slide
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research