NYSE · Steel Works, Blast Furnaces & Rolling Mills (Coke Ovens) · CIK 0000073309
$261.07
+4.22% · delayed 15 min
$60.19B market value
What this company does
NUCOR produces steel and other metals. It took in $32.49B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 5 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From NUCOR CORP's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +5.7%
$30.73B to $32.49B
Deteriorated: -14.0%
$2.03B to $1.74B
Deteriorated: −1.4 pts
13.3% to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.74B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$3.23B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$2.19B more cash than debt
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it well clear of distress.
Altman Z 5.49
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.5% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 5 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.74B last year. Note that after $3.42B of spending on property and equipment, it consumed $188.0M more cash than it generated.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 29 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 16% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.74B and generated $3.23B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-12 | 2026-07-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-27 | 2026-07-27 |
Financial figures are from NUE's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
5.49
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: −1.2 pts
6.6% to 5.4%
Deteriorated: turned negative
$806.0M to -$188.0M
Deteriorated: -36.5%
$3.56B to $2.26B
Improved: -4.2%
240.7M to 230.5M
Changed: +7.8%
$3.17B to $3.42B
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 5.7% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $2.19B left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.70 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $34.5 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-06-22 | 2026-02-27 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-06-02 | 2025-12-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-19 | 2026-05-14 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-13 | 2026-04-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-27 | 2026-04-27 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-27 | 2026-05-14 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-03 | 2026-02-27 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2026-02-27 | 2026-02-19 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-20 | 2026-02-19 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-26 | 2026-01-26 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-04 | 2025-12-02 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-12 | 2025-10-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-27 | 2025-10-27 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-13 | 2025-07-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-28 | 2025-07-28 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2025-06-20 | 2025-05-13 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-14 | 2025-04-05 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Nucor (NUE) Files Shelf Registration To Keep Future Funding Options Open
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Nucor (NUE) Down 6.8% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Tariffs Are Back in Focus: 3 Stocks With a Home-Field Advantage
Yahoo Finance ·
U.S. Steel Stocks Nucor, Steel Dynamics Give Up Initial Gains On Canada Trade Talks Collapse
Yahoo Finance ·
Steel Stocks Jump as U.S.-Canada Tariff Fight Escalates
Yahoo Finance ·
Nucor Shares Rebound After Tariff-Driven Volatility
Yahoo Finance ·
Which Steel Stock Has Dominated in 2026: Nucor, Steel Dynamics, or Worthington Steel?
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Wall Street Analysts Predicting Nucor Stock Will Climb or Sink?
Yahoo Finance ·
Does Nucor’s (NUE) Indiana Expansion Offset Tariff Uncertainty in Its North American Strategy?
Yahoo Finance ·
Nucor (NUE) Could Be 12% Undervalued After Tariff Cut Reports
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Dividend Stocks With So Much Cash Flow Their Payouts Barely Make a Dent
Yahoo Finance ·
5 Dividend Aristocrats That Belong in Every Income Portfolio
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research