NYSE · Search, Detection, Navigation, Guidance, Aeronautical Sys · CIK 0001133421
$514.98
-5.61% · delayed 15 min
$73.13B market value
What this company does
NORTHROP GRUMMAN /DE/ makes measuring and control instruments. It took in $41.95B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 10 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From NORTHROP GRUMMAN CORP /DE/'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +26.2%
$2.62B to $3.31B
Improved: -2.0%
145.0M to 142.0M
Changed: -17.9%
$1.77B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$4.18B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$4.76B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 7/8
Nothing in the filings stands out as a concern.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 9% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 7% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 10 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $4.18B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 31 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 27% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $4.18B and generated $4.76B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-21 | 2026-08-19 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from NOC's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
2.86
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
5 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 7% and 11%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.7% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 2.2%.
No. At its current cash flow it could clear its debt in about 2.4 years. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.48 in assets.
Around average. Investors pay $17.5 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-07-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-21 | 2026-05-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-21 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-21 | 2026-04-21 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-03 | 2026-05-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-13 | 2026-02-11 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-01-27 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-27 | 2026-01-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-03 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-21 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-21 | 2025-10-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-02 | 2025-09-02 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-22 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-22 | 2025-07-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-29 | 2025-05-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-28 | 2025-05-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-23 | 2025-05-21 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-04-22 | 2025-03-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is Northrop Grumman Stock Underperforming the S&P 500?
Yahoo Finance ·
Better Drone Stock: Kratos Defense vs. Northrop Grumman
Yahoo Finance ·
1 Large-Cap Stock with Exciting Potential and 2 We Find Risky
Yahoo Finance ·
The Zacks Analyst Blog Highlights Lockheed Martin, RTX, Northrop Grumman, ITA, PPA and XAR
Yahoo Finance ·
Kratos MUX TACAIR Win With Northrop Grumman Could Be A Game Changer For Northrop (NOC)
Yahoo Finance ·
Northrop Grumman Corp's Dividend Analysis
Yahoo Finance ·
Operation Homefront® Welcomes Dr. Mike Witt to National Board of Directors
Yahoo Finance ·
Boeing Slips 3.2% in 3 Months: Is a Better Entry Point Ahead?
Yahoo Finance ·
Lockheed Martin Stock Rises 12.6% YTD: Is There Still Room to Grow?
Yahoo Finance ·
2 Profitable Stocks for Long-Term Investors and 1 That Underwhelm
Yahoo Finance ·
How Long Would You Wait For GE Aerospace Stock To Come Back?
Yahoo Finance ·
Should You Buy Boeing Stock While It Still Loses Money On Airplanes?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research