NYSE · Petroleum Refining · CIK 0001510295
$388.90
+5.44% · delayed 15 min
$121.56B market value
What this company does
Marathon Petroleum refines oil into fuel and related products. It took in $132.70B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 3 cents is left as profit.
Recent open-market selling by 6 insiders, not under a pre-arranged plan.
$5.6M sold in the last 120 days · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From Marathon Petroleum Corp's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +17.5%
$3.44B to $4.05B
Deteriorated: -22.3%
$6.13B to $4.77B
Improved: +14.4%
$3.21B to $3.67B
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$4.05B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$8.25B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$1.30B more cash than debt
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 7/8
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 4.4% on last year
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.1% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 3 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $4.05B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 28 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 14% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $4.05B and generated $8.25B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Sold on the open market — 425 shares at $368.51 ($156.6K)
Holds 12,194 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,000 shares at $375.75 ($375.8K)
Holds 11,194 shares after this filing.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-04 |
Financial figures are from MPC's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
3.86
In the safe zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: -13.5%
361.4M to 312.6M
Changed: +37.6%
$2.53B to $3.49B
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 4.4% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $1.30B left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.40 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $30.0 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
Sold on the open market — 570 shares at $362.79 ($206.8K)
Holds 1,576 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 7,196 shares at $47.73 ($343.5K)
Holds 37,530 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 7,196 shares at $358.57 ($2.6M)
Holds 30,334 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 5,000 shares at $47.73 ($238.6K)
Holds 35,334 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 5,000 shares at $358.57 ($1.8M)
Holds 30,334 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 5,000 shares at $47.73 ($238.6K)
Holds 35,334 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 5,000 shares at $358.57 ($1.8M)
Holds 30,334 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 2,500 shares at $350.00 ($875.0K)
Holds 12,619 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 6,011 shares at $341.56 ($2.1M)
Holds 10,889 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 908 shares at $311.78 ($283.1K)
Holds 110,939 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,372 shares at $268.75 ($368.7K)
Holds 16,900 shares after this filing.
Exercised stock options — 4,964 shares at $49.94 ($247.9K)
Holds 21,864 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 4,964 shares at $268.85 ($1.3M)
Holds 16,900 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 1,000 shares at $250.00 ($250.0K)
Holds 6,525 shares after this filing.
Notice filed ahead of a planned sale — the sale itself has not necessarily happened yet.
Filed notice to sell 1,000 shares ($375.7K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Compensation.
Filed notice to sell 425 shares ($156.6K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Compensation.
Filed notice to sell 570 shares ($206.8K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Filed notice to sell 897 shares ($324.0K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Restricted Stock Vesting.
Filed notice to sell 2,500 shares ($875.0K) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Compensation.
Filed notice to sell 17,196 shares ($6.2M) on or after .
Shares originally obtained via Stock Option Exercise.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
| Major event announcement(8-K) |
| 2026-06-29 |
| 2026-06-26 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-05-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-01 | 2026-04-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-13 | 2026-04-07 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-16 | 2026-04-29 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-26 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-03 | 2026-02-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-18 | 2025-12-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-10-29 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-11-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-05 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-05 | 2025-08-05 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-06 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-06 | 2025-05-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-02 | 2025-04-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-30 | 2025-04-28 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Can Marathon Petroleum (MPC) Keep Rallying? Wells Fargo Says Yes
Yahoo Finance ·
Here is What to Know Beyond Why Marathon Petroleum Corporation (MPC) is a Trending Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Marathon Petroleum Stock Outperforming the S&P 500?
Yahoo Finance ·
Will UK interest rates fall in 2026?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Marathon Petroleum (MPC) Up 30% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
If You Invested $1000 in Marathon Petroleum a Decade Ago, This is How Much It'd Be Worth Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Oil Majors Don’t Want to Build New U.S. Refineries
Yahoo Finance ·
Goldman Sachs Sees Major Shift Coming for Oil Markets
Yahoo Finance ·
Archer-Daniels-Midland (ADM) Bets Big On Oilseed Crush Capacity
Yahoo Finance ·
PBF Energy Rises 168% in a Year: Is This the Right Time to Buy?
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Refining Stocks Up More Than 100% YTD With Further Upside Potential
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Marathon Petroleum Stock Still a Buy After More Than Doubling YTD?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research