NYSE · Motor Vehicles & Passenger Car Bodies · CIK 0001467858
$87.76
+1.73% · delayed 15 min
$79.34B market value
What this company does
General Motors makes cars and vehicle parts. It took in $167.97B last year, which makes it a very large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 2 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 1.17
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
Several areas of financial weakness.
From General Motors Co's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -55.1%
$6.01B to $2.70B
Deteriorated: −1.9 pts
3.5% to 1.6%
Improved: +88.9%
$9.30B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$2.70B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$26.87B cash from operations
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 2.1% on last year
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 1.17
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.4% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 2 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.70B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 24 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 2% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.70B and generated $26.87B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-11 | 2026-08-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-06-30 |
Financial figures are from GM's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
5 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
1.17
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +5.4%
$19.87B to $20.95B
Improved: -9.1%
995.0M to 904.0M
Changed: -14.1%
$10.83B to $9.30B
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 2.1% last year.
It is tight. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.29 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $29.4 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-07-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-04 | 2026-06-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-26 | 2026-05-26 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-04-28 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-20 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-23 | 2026-03-23 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-01-27 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-27 | 2026-01-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-08 | 2026-01-08 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-21 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-21 | 2025-10-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-14 | 2025-10-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-22 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-22 | 2025-07-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-06-05 | 2025-06-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-07 | 2025-05-05 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-01 | 2025-03-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
General Motors (GM) Commits Over C$1 Billion to Canadian Plants as Workers Ratify New Deal
Yahoo Finance ·
General Motors (GM) Just Moved, What Is Behind The Attention?
Yahoo Finance ·
Workers reeling after VW cuts open door to factory closures
Yahoo Finance ·
General Motors (GM) Rises Higher Than Market: Key Facts
Yahoo Finance ·
GM, Ford Turn EV Battery Bust Into Energy Storage Bet
Yahoo Finance ·
Stock Market Today, Sept. 4: Tesla Falls After Cybercab Launch Disappoints Investors
Yahoo Finance ·
Ford, GM Face Off Overseas in Bids to Build British Army’s Next-Generation Vehicle
Yahoo Finance ·
General Motors (GM) Has One Operational US EV Battery Plant
Yahoo Finance ·
The Lowe’s Foundation wants to train 1 million craft workers
Yahoo Finance ·
Lowe’s Foundation launches skilled trades coalition to train 1M workers by 2035
Yahoo Finance ·
BMW Stock Has Rarely Been Cheaper Amid Pressure in Chinese Market
Yahoo Finance ·
Nvidia Is Now Paying to Train Plumbers, and the Stock That Should Benefit Most Just Hit a 52-Week Low
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research