NASDAQ NMS - GLOBAL MARKET · Banking · CIK 0000811589
$63.74
-0.28% · live
Updated
$2.64B market value
From FIRST BANCORP /NC/'s FY2025 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2026 · read the filing
FIRST BANCORP /NC/ takes deposits and lends money. It took in $67.6M last year, which makes it a small company. Of every dollar it sells, about 164 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability, with debt worth watching, while growth remain weak.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Recent open-market selling by MOORE RICHARD H, not under a pre-arranged plan.
$1.5M sold in the last 120 days · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From FIRST BANCORP /NC/'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Profit
$76.2M → $111.0M
Profit margin
108.7% → 164.2%
Earnings per share
$1.84 → $2.68
Capital spending
$2.7M → $4.2M
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Feb 25, 2026
Improved: +45.7%
$76.2M to $111.0MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
FBNC fell 0.28% on the latest quote. The average Financials company tracked here moved +1.11%, and the S&P 500 −0.43%. That is 1.4 points below its sector and in line with the market.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 5.5% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 164 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $111.0M last year.
No. Sales shrank 3.6% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.15 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 34 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 18% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $111.0M and generated $203.1M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Feb 25, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Feb 26, 2025Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K · Feb 28, 2024Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Feb 28, 2024Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Feb 28, 2024Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $67.6M | $70.1M | $32.8M | $17.4M | $25.3M | −3.6% |
| Interest expense | $6.5M | $14.9M | $142.1M | $16.1M | $9.5M | −56.5% |
| Income before tax | $139.5M | $98.1M | $132.0M | $185.2M | $120.3M | +42.2% |
| Net income | $111.0M | $76.2M | $104.1M | $146.9M | $95.6M | +45.7% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 164.2% | 108.7% | 317.3% | 842.1% | 377.7% | +55.5 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $2.68 | $1.84 | $2.53 | $4.12 | $2.68 | +45.3% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Sold on the open market — 16,000 shares at $63.17 ($1.0M)
Holds 90,206 shares after this filing.
Sold on the open market — 7,343 shares at $62.17 ($456.5K)
Holds 82,863 shares after this filing.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Published results
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingWrite down why you are following FIRST BANCORP /NC/, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from FBNC's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Feb 25, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 7 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 6.0 | 6/7 | 10-K, filed Feb 25, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 8.7 | 6/7 | 10-K, filed Feb 26, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 8.7 | 4/7 | 10-K, filed Feb 28, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 8.0 | 5/6 | 10-K, filed Feb 28, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 8.0 | 5/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 1, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 8.0 | 4/6 | 10-K, filed Feb 26, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
6 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +55.5 pts
108.7% to 164.2%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +45.3%
$1.84 to $2.68Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Changed: +59.8%
$2.7M to $4.2MCritical
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Improved: +15.5%
$172.1M to $198.9MSignificant
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Improved: -18.8%
$91.9M to $74.6MSignificant
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Deteriorated: -39.0%
$507.5M to $309.6MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 6, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +31.0%
$38.6M to $50.5MSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +31.3%
$0.93 to $1.22Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: -19.0%
$92.2M to $74.7MSignificant
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
Deteriorated: -22.6%
$711.3M to $550.3MSignificant
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 6, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: +8.3%
$46.7M to $50.5MNotable
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +8.3%
$1.13 to $1.22Notable
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: -8.0%
$598.0M to $550.3MNotable
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 16.9x — investors pay $16.9 for each $1 of trailing profit.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Bought on the open market — 231 shares at $64.23 ($14.8K)
Holds 1,094 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 1,887 shares at $63.53 ($119.9K)
Holds 16,961 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 2,096 shares at $63.53 ($133.2K)
Holds 31,022 shares after this filing.
Had shares withheld to cover taxes — 2,096 shares at $63.53 ($133.2K)
Holds 56,941 shares after this filing.
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Quarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Profit +31.0% · Earnings per share +31.3% · Long-term debt -19.0% — against Q2 FY2025
Published results
Read the filingSigned a material agreement · Reported another event
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Capital spending +673.3% · Profit +28.2% · Earnings per share +28.1% — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Profit margin +55.5 pts · Profit +45.7% · Earnings per share +45.3% — against FY2024
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join · Reported another event
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Cash -19.7% · Profit +9.0% · Earnings per share +8.7% — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingWill First Bancorp (FBNC) Beat Estimates Again in Its Next Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research