Nasdaq · Electric & Other Services Combined · CIK 0001711269
$81.54
+1.10% · delayed 15 min
$18.75B market value
What this company does
Evergy supplies electricity, gas or water. It took in $5.71B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 15 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.68
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From Evergy, Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: $398.8M wider
-$352.9M to -$751.7M
Deteriorated: +10.4%
$11.81B to $13.04B
Deteriorated: -10.0%
$22.0M
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$855.6M earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$2.05B cash from operations
Clearing its debt would take many years at the current rate of cash generation.
about 6.5 years of cash flow
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.49x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.68
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 7.6% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 15 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $855.6M last year. Note that after $2.80B of spending on property and equipment, it consumed $751.7M more cash than it generated.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 72 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 30% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 10 years.
GoodFigures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $855.6M and generated $2.05B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from EVRG in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-24 | 2026-08-24 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-06 | 2026-08-06 |
Financial figures are from EVRG's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
4 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.68
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Changed: +19.7%
$2.34B to $2.80B
4 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Barely. Sales were roughly flat, up 0.0%.
Yes. Clearing its debt would take roughly 6.5 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.43 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $21.9 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-06 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-01 | 2026-07-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-01 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-03-31 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-26 | 2026-05-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-10 | 2026-03-10 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-19 | 2026-02-19 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-19 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2026-02-11 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-07 | 2026-01-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-05 | 2025-12-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-25 | 2025-11-25 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-03 | 2025-08-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-15 | 2025-08-11 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-07 | 2025-08-07 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Can Economic Development Drive EVRG's Long-Term Earnings Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Evergy (EVRG) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Evergy has 3 GW of large loads signed and a 5-GW generation pipeline
Yahoo Finance ·
Do Wall Street Analysts Like Evergy Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Evergy (EVRG) Could Be 8% Undervalued On Earnings And Dividend Update
Yahoo Finance ·
Evergy Q2 Earnings Call Highlights
Yahoo Finance ·
Evergy's Q2 Earnings Beat Estimates, Revenues Increase Y/Y
Yahoo Finance ·
Evergy Inc (EVRG) Tops Q2 Earnings and Revenue Estimates
Yahoo Finance ·
Will Revenue Improvement Strengthen FirstEnergy's Long-Term Outlook?
Yahoo Finance ·
Can PPL's Rising Revenues Support Sustainable Earnings Growth?
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Utilities Stocks Lagging Evergy (EVRG) This Year?
Yahoo Finance ·
Evergy, Inc. Q2 2026 Earnings Call Summary
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research