NYSE · Services-Misc Health & Allied Services, NEC · CIK 0000927066
$183.99
+1.83% · delayed 15 min
$12.61B market value
What this company does
DAVITA provides healthcare and runs medical facilities. It took in $13.64B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 5 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 1.03
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From DAVITA INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +6.5%
$12.82B to $13.64B
Deteriorated: -20.2%
$936.3M to $746.8M
Deteriorated: −1.8 pts
7.3% to 5.5%
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$746.8M earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$1.89B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 6/7
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 1.03
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to shrink by about 5% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 4% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 5 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $746.8M last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $746.8M and generated $1.89B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from DVA in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-04 | 2026-08-04 |
Financial figures are from DVA's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
6 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
1.03
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -10.6%
$1.47B to $1.31B
Deteriorated: -14.9%
$794.9M to $676.4M
Improved: -14.9%
80.5M to 68.5M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between -7% and -3%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 5.8% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 6.5% last year.
It is tight. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.07 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $16.9 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-08 | 2026-06-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-05 | 2026-05-05 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-04-22 | 2025-12-31 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-02 | 2026-02-02 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-25 | 2025-11-24 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-10-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-20 | 2025-08-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-05 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-05 | 2025-08-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-17 | 2025-07-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-06-09 | 2025-06-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-23 | 2025-05-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-20 | 2025-05-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-20 | 2025-05-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-12 | 2025-03-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
DaVita (DVA) Has Investors Asking A Fresh Question
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is DaVita HealthCare (DVA) Down 4.9% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Do Options Traders Know Something About DaVita Stock We Don't?
Yahoo Finance ·
1 Value Stock to Target This Week and 2 We Find Risky
Yahoo Finance ·
DaVita agrees to pay $15M to settle claims from data breach
Yahoo Finance ·
Zacks Industry Outlook Highlights DaVita, LifeStance Health, Option Care Health, and Aveanna Healthcare
Yahoo Finance ·
DaVita and Humana Expand Kidney Care Partnership to More Than 10,000 Patients
Yahoo Finance ·
4 Outpatient & Home Healthcare Stocks in Focus Amid Industry Tailwinds
Yahoo Finance ·
Can Humana (HUM) Stay Cheap If Medicare Advantage Margins Tighten?
Yahoo Finance ·
Forever Committed to Excellence in Care: DaVita Community Care Report 2025
Yahoo Finance ·
DaVita Community Care Report 2025: Leading With Integrity and Accountability
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Is Encompass Health (EHC) Down 1.8% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research