NYSE · Operative Builders · CIK 0000882184
$142.75
-3.15% · delayed 15 min
$42.04B market value
What this company does
HORTON D R /DE/ builds and constructs buildings. It took in $34.25B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 10 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
Generally healthy, with a few things to watch.
From HORTON D R INC /DE/'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -6.9%
$36.80B to $34.25B
Deteriorated: -24.6%
$4.76B to $3.59B
Deteriorated: −2.2 pts
25.9% to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$3.59B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$3.42B cash from operations
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 6.9% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
12.9% → 10.5%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to shrink by about 1% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 18% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 10 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $3.59B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 14 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 14% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $3.59B and generated $3.42B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-23 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-21 | 2026-07-21 |
Financial figures are from DHI's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-09-30), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: −2.5 pts
12.9% to 10.5%
Improved: +62.2%
$2.02B to $3.28B
Deteriorated: -33.9%
$4.52B to $2.99B
Improved: -9.1%
324.0M to 294.5M
Changed: -16.9%
$165.3M to $137.4M
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between -3% and 1%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 3.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 6.9% last year.
It does not appear so. For every $1 it owes, it owns $3.31 in assets.
On the cheaper side. Investors pay $11.7 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-12 | 2026-05-06 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-23 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-21 | 2026-04-21 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-31 | 2026-03-27 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-01-22 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-20 | 2026-01-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-16 | 2026-01-15 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2025-12-10 | 2026-01-15 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2025-11-19 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-28 | 2025-10-28 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-22 | 2025-07-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-09 | 2025-05-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-05 | 2025-05-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-05 | 2025-04-28 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-04-23 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-17 | 2025-04-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-02-26 | 2025-02-26 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Why D.R. Horton (DHI) Outpaced the Stock Market Today
Yahoo Finance ·
D.R. Horton's Minnesota Division and Trade Partners Donate School Supplies to Rochester Schools
Yahoo Finance ·
Unpacking Q2 Earnings: D.R. Horton (NYSE:DHI) In The Context Of Other Home Builders Stocks
Yahoo Finance ·
Treasury Yields Are Surging Again: 3 Stocks That Could Feel the Pain
Yahoo Finance ·
D.R. Horton (DHI) Up 6.6% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Continue?
Yahoo Finance ·
The Fed Held Rates Flat for 231 Days, Your Mortgage Rates Went Up Anyway
Yahoo Finance ·
Warren Buffett’s Berkshire Is Buying These 2 Homebuilding Stocks. Housing Market Recovery Coming?
Yahoo Finance ·
Warren Buffett and Greg Abel Are Bullish on 4 Contrarian Stocks That All Pay Dividends
Yahoo Finance ·
Did Greg Abel Get Berkshire Hathaway Caught In a Housing Trap?
Yahoo Finance ·
Toll Brothers Grew Its Earnings Per Share Without Growing Earnings
Yahoo Finance ·
D.R. Horton (DHI) Stock Looks Discounted To Fair Value While Legal Risks Linger
Yahoo Finance ·
Berkshire bets on housing market recovery under CEO Greg Abel
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research