Nasdaq · Railroads, Line-Haul Operating · CIK 0000277948
$49.41
-3.65% · delayed 15 min
$91.90B market value
What this company does
CSX runs railways and local transport. It took in $14.09B last year, which makes it a large company. Of every dollar it sells, about 21 cents is left as profit.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From CSX CORP's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: -16.7%
$3.47B to $2.89B
Deteriorated: −3.4 pts
23.9% to 20.5%
Deteriorated: -37.0%
$2.72B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$2.89B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$4.61B cash from operations
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 3.1% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
23.9% → 20.5%
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.81x cover on near-term bills
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.8% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 21 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $2.89B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 34 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 21% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $2.89B and generated $4.61B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-22 | 2026-07-22 |
Financial figures are from CSX's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
4 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
1.85
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: -28.2%
$933.0M to $670.0M
Improved: -2.1%
1.90B to 1.86B
Changed: +14.7%
$2.53B to $2.90B
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 3.1% last year.
Manageable. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.43 in assets.
Expensive. Investors pay $31.8 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-14 | 2026-05-12 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-22 | 2026-04-22 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-30 | 2026-05-12 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-12 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-22 | 2026-01-22 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-29 | 2025-10-29 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-23 | 2025-10-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-22 | 2025-10-20 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-16 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-16 | 2025-10-16 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-29 | 2025-09-26 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-23 | 2025-07-23 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-12 | 2025-05-07 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-04-16 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-04-16 | 2025-04-16 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2025-03-25 | 2025-05-07 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
CSX Corporation Stock: Is CSX Outperforming the Industrial Sector?
Yahoo Finance ·
CSX Corp's Dividend Analysis
Yahoo Finance ·
Q2 Earnings Outperformers: CSX (NASDAQ:CSX) And The Rest Of The Transportation and Logistics Stocks
Yahoo Finance ·
CSX Honors 55 Customers for Chemical Safety Excellence
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why Investors Should Add CSX Stock to Their Portfolio
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Transportation Stocks Lagging CSX (CSX) This Year?
Yahoo Finance ·
2 Large-Cap Stocks on Our Watchlist and 1 Facing Headwinds
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Reasons CSX is Risky and 1 Stock to Buy Instead
Yahoo Finance ·
3 Railroad Stocks to Buy From the Prospering Industry
Yahoo Finance ·
Here’s How Intermodal Demand Is Positioning CSX Corp. (CSX) for Growth
Yahoo Finance ·
Rail consultant returns to lead South Carolina short line
Yahoo Finance ·
CleanSpace Holdings Ltd (ASX:CSX) (FY 2026) Earnings Call Highlights: Flat Revenue, Strategic ...
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research