NYSE · Services-Commercial Physical & Biological Research · CIK 0001100682
$288.50
-1.03% · delayed 15 min
$14.20B market value
What this company does
CHARLES RIVER LABORATORIES INTERNATIONAL provides engineering, research and consulting services. It took in $4.02B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. It spends more than it earns — losing about 4 cents on every dollar of sales.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From CHARLES RIVER LABORATORIES INTERNATIONAL, INC.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: turned negative
$22.2M to -$144.3M
Deteriorated: −4.1 pts
0.5% to -3.6%
Improved: +9.8%
$194.6M to $213.8M
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$737.6M cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$213.6M more cash than debt
It loses money, so it depends on cash reserves or new funding to keep going.
$144.3M lost last year
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 0.9% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
0.5% → -3.6%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to grow by about 10% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 8% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $144.3M last year, losing about 4 cents on every dollar of sales.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it lost $144.3M and generated $737.6M of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-06-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-08-05 |
Financial figures are from CRL's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-27), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
4 of 7 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 2 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
1.81
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: -3.8%
51.1M to 49.2M
Changed: -5.9%
$233.0M to $219.2M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between 7% and 12%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 4.8% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 0.9% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $213.6M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.82 in assets.
It has no profits to compare a price against, because it lost money last year.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-11 | 2026-05-05 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-03-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-07 | 2026-05-07 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-31 | 2026-05-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-25 | 2026-02-25 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-18 | 2026-02-18 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-18 | 2025-12-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-18 | 2026-02-18 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-13 | 2026-01-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-09 | 2026-01-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-12-03 | 2025-12-03 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-17 | 2025-11-14 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-11-05 | 2025-09-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-05 | 2025-11-05 |
| Major event announcement (amended)(8-K/A) | 2025-09-19 | 2025-09-12 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-09-16 | 2025-09-12 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-06-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-06 | 2025-08-06 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Charles River (CRL) Up 10.5% Since Last Earnings Report: Can It Continue?
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why You Should Hold Charles River Stock in Your Portfolio Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Animal Testing and Non-Animal Alternative Testing Market Outlook 2025-2035 - Featuring Profiles of Charles River Laboratories, Labcorp, and Eurofins Scientific
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Wall Street Bullish or Bearish on Charles River Laboratories Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Does Charles River (CRL)–Medigen Vaccine Work Sharpen the Case for Its Complex Biologics Edge?
Yahoo Finance ·
CRL Jumps 33.3% in the Past Month: Can This Strong Rally Keep Running?
Yahoo Finance ·
Are Options Traders Betting on a Big Move in Charles River Stock?
Yahoo Finance ·
Charles River Gains 88.6% in a Year: What's Driving the Rally?
Yahoo Finance ·
Charles River Laboratories and Medigen Vaccine Biologics Corp Collaborate to Advance New Vaccine Development Programs Through Next Generation Sequencing
Yahoo Finance ·
Protein Design & Engineering Market Global Report 2026: Evaluating AI Platforms, Rational Design, Directed Evolution, and Strategies of Lonza, Thermo Fisher, GenScript, and Charles River
Yahoo Finance ·
Charles River Laboratories (CRL) Q2 2026 Earnings Call Transcript
Yahoo Finance ·
Is This the Right Time to Add CRL Stock to Your Portfolio?
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research