NYSE · Electric & Other Services Combined · CIK 0000811156
$68.46
+0.37% · delayed 15 min
$20.98B market value
What this company does
CMS ENERGY supplies electricity, gas or water. It took in $8.30B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 13 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score 0.79
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From CMS ENERGY CORP's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Improved: +13.5%
$7.32B to $8.30B
Improved: +6.8%
$1.00B to $1.07B
Deteriorated: +17.2%
$15.19B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.07B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$2.23B cash from operations
Clearing its debt would take many years at the current rate of cash generation.
about 8.2 years of cash flow
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.98x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z 0.79
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 5.3% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 13 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.07B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.07B and generated $2.23B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-28 | 2026-07-28 |
Financial figures are from CMS's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
6 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
0.79
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +394.2%
$103.0M to $509.0M
Deteriorated: +2.5%
298.8M to 306.4M
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 13.5% last year.
Yes. Clearing its debt would take roughly 8.2 years of cash flow. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.30 in assets. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Around average. Investors pay $19.6 for every $1 of yearly profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-03 | 2026-06-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-13 | 2026-05-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-05-13 | 2026-05-08 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-28 | 2026-04-28 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2026-03-26 | 2026-05-08 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-20 | 2026-02-20 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-11 | 2026-02-11 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-02-10 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-05 | 2026-02-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-21 | 2025-11-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-04 | 2025-11-04 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-03 | 2025-11-03 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-10-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-07-31 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Why Is CMS Energy (CMS) Down 6.9% Since Last Earnings Report?
Yahoo Finance ·
CMS Energy (CMS) Could Be 11% Undervalued Following Its Preferred Dividend Declaration
Yahoo Finance ·
Consumers Energy, the Principal Subsidiary of CMS Energy, Declares Quarterly Dividend on Preferred Stock
Yahoo Finance ·
Why Did APP, CMS, MVIS Stocks Plunge To 52-Week Lows Last Week?
Yahoo Finance ·
Consumers Energy Plan Will Power Michigan's Next Generation with Reliable and Affordable Energy
Yahoo Finance ·
Consumers Energy Introduces Crew Check Tool to Help Customers Identify Natural Gas Workers, Increase Safety
Yahoo Finance ·
Peter Thiel’s $418 Million Bet On These 8 Companies Reveals AI’s Biggest Bottleneck
Yahoo Finance ·
Consumers Energy Invests in Reliability Upgrades to Secure the Grid for Michigan Customers
Yahoo Finance ·
CMS Energy Stock: Is Wall Street Bullish or Bearish?
Yahoo Finance ·
Vistra Q2 Earnings Beat Estimates on Pricing and Lotus, Revenues Miss
Yahoo Finance ·
Consumers Energy Secures Natural Gas System with Nearly 150 Miles of Upgrades Across Michigan
Yahoo Finance ·
Consumers Energy Foundation launches Community Impact Awards with Grants up to $20,000
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research