NYSE · Wholesale-Drugs, Proprietaries & Druggists' Sundries · CIK 0000721371
$247.18
+5.38% · delayed 15 min
$57.49B market value
What this company does
CARDINAL HEALTH distributes goods wholesale to other businesses. It took in $254.25B last year, which makes it one of the largest companies in the world. Of every dollar it sells, about 1 cents is left as profit.
A published bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z-Score -0.22
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From CARDINAL HEALTH INC's FY2026 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2025, from the 10-K
Improved: +14.2%
$222.58B to $254.25B
Improved: +9.8%
$1.56B to $1.71B
Improved: +144.6%
$1.85B to
It makes a profit rather than burning through money.
$1.71B earned last year
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$5.17B cash from operations
It passes almost every standard check of financial strength.
Piotroski 7/8
More bills fall due within a year than it holds in short-term assets.
0.88x cover on near-term bills
A widely used bankruptcy-risk model places it in its distress range.
Altman Z -0.22
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
The growth rate someone buying today is paying for, against what the company has delivered
At today's price, the market is paying for free cash flow to shrink by about 2% a year for the next 10 years. Over the last 10 years it grew by about 6% a year.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 1 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $1.71B last year.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It pays out 29 cents of every dollar of profit and keeps the rest, which leaves the payment comfortably covered. It paid out 9% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
GoodNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2026 annual filing
Last year it earned $1.71B and generated $5.17B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Annual report(10-K) | 2026-08-11 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-11 | 2026-08-11 |
Financial figures are from CAH's 10-K for fiscal year 2026 (period ending 2026-06-30), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing. Total liabilities were not tagged directly and were calculated as assets minus equity.
7 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
-0.22
In the distress zone
For this model, above 2.6 is safe and below 1.1 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2026 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +25.3%
$3.87B to $4.86B
Improved: -2.6%
238.8M to 232.6M
Changed: +18.6%
$547.0M to $649.0M
2 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Discounted at 8%–10% a year, with growth settling to 2.5% after 10 years. Those rates are ordinary choices, not measurements: across that range the assumed growth works out between -4% and 0%. This describes what the price implies — it is not a forecast, and not a view on whether the price is right.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 2.7% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Slowly. Sales grew 14.2% last year.
Yes. It owes more than it owns — only $0.95 in assets for every $1 of liabilities. A bankruptcy-risk model also places it in its distress range.
Expensive. Investors pay $33.5 for every $1 of yearly profit, so a lot of future growth is already priced in.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-11 | 2026-08-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-08-05 | 2026-08-04 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-23 | 2026-03-17 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-03-05 | 2026-03-02 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-02-05 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-02-05 | 2026-02-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-13 | 2026-01-13 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-05 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-30 | 2025-10-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-10 | 2025-10-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-10-03 | 2025-09-30 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2025-09-16 | 2025-11-05 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-27 | 2025-08-27 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-14 | 2025-08-13 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2025-08-12 | 2025-06-30 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Jim Cramer Notes Cardinal Health (CAH) is “Too Attractive to Ignore”
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Generics Still a Quiet Profit Engine for Cardinal Health?
Yahoo Finance ·
Catheter Precision Achieves Major Commercial Milestones with Cardinal Health, Johns Hopkins and the placement of the First VIVO System in Germany
Yahoo Finance ·
What Cardinal Health (CAH)'s New US$5 Billion Buyback and Q4 Results Mean For Shareholders
Yahoo Finance ·
Cencora Raises 2026 EPS Outlook as Specialty Businesses Strengthen
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's How CVS' Improving Balance Sheet Supports Deleveraging
Yahoo Finance ·
AbbVie vs. Johnson & Johnson: Which Healthcare Stock Is a Better Buy in 2026?
Yahoo Finance ·
How CVS' Pharmacy & Consumer Wellness Is Positioned for H2 2026
Yahoo Finance ·
2 Profitable Stocks with Solid Fundamentals and 1 We Turn Down
Yahoo Finance ·
Is McKesson Stock Worth Buying as Growth Meets a Premium Valuation?
Yahoo Finance ·
McKesson Raises FY27 Guidance as Oncology and GLP-1 Growth Accelerate
Yahoo Finance ·
Reasons to Retain Cardinal Health Stock in Your Portfolio for Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research