NASDAQ NMS - GLOBAL MARKET · Banking · CIK 0001001171
$11.26
-0.49% · live
Updated
$96.8M market value
From BROADWAY FINANCIAL CORP \DE\'s FY2025 10-K, filed Mar 31, 2026 · read the filing
BROADWAY FINANCIAL \DE\ takes deposits and lends money. It took in $184.0K last year, which makes it a small company. It spends more than it earns — losing about 13476 cents on every dollar of sales.
The financial picture is led by growth, with debt worth watching, while profitability remain weak.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From BROADWAY FINANCIAL CORP \DE\'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Profit
$1.9M → -$24.8M
Profit margin
1244.5% → -13475.5%
Free cash flow
$1.3M → -$13.0K
Earnings per share
$0.23 → -$2.88
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K filed Mar 31, 2026
Deteriorated: turned negative
$1.9M to -$24.8MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
BYFC fell 0.49% on the latest quote. The average Financials company tracked here moved −1.33%, and the S&P 500 −0.47%. That is 0.8 points above its sector and in line with the market.
No filing from BYFC and no news item about it appeared in the last 3 days.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 0.1% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $24.8M last year, losing about 13476 cents on every dollar of sales.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 18.7% last year.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.24 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it lost $24.8M and generated $230.0K of cash from operations.
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202510-K · Mar 31, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202410-K · Dec 23, 2025Filing for FY2024 | FY202310-K/A · Dec 23, 2025Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · May 20, 2024Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Apr 11, 2023Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $184.0K | $155.0K | $179.0K | $145.0K | $249.0K | +18.7% |
| Interest expense | $8.2M | $19.0M | $17.8M | $3.4M | $3.7M | −56.8% |
| Income before tax | -$24.5M | $2.8M | $6.3M | $8.1M | -$4.9M | n/m |
| Net income | -$24.8M | $1.9M | $4.3M | $5.6M | -$4.0M | n/m |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | -13475.5% | 1244.5% | 2417.3% | 3886.9% | -1626.5% | −14720.1 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $-2.88 | $0.228 | $0.5016 | $0.6227 | $-0.0673 | n/m |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Was granted or awarded shares — 4,921 shares at $10.16 ($50.0K)
Holds 4,921 shares after this filing.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Had a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2026
Revenue +7.3% · Profit margin +365.9 pts · Cash +65.7% — against Q2 FY2025
Read the filingWrite down why you are following BROADWAY FINANCIAL CORP \DE\, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Broadway Financial Corporation Reports Second Quarter 2026 Results Reflecting Strong Loan and Deposit Growth and Enhanced Operating Performance
Yahoo Finance ·
Broadway Financial Corporation Names Tina Carew as Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary
Yahoo Finance ·
Shareholders in Broadway Financial (NASDAQ:BYFC) are in the red if they invested five years ago
Yahoo Finance ·
Broadway Financial Corporation Announces Notification from Nasdaq Regarding Late Filing of Form 10-Q
Yahoo Finance ·
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from BYFC's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Mar 31, 2026), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 6 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 6.0 | 4/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 31, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 6.0 | 3/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 31, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 8.7 | 5/6 | 10-K, filed May 20, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 6.0 | 4/6 | 10-K, filed Apr 11, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 3.3 | 2/6 | 10-K, filed Apr 15, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 3.3 | 1/6 | 10-K, filed Mar 31, 2021 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
4 of 6 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 3 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: −14720.1 pts
1244.5% to -13475.5%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Deteriorated: turned negative
$1.3M to -$13.0KCritical
Why it matters: Cash left after paying for the plant that produced it — the money genuinely available for dividends, buybacks or paying down debt. Harder to flatter than profit.
Deteriorated: turned negative
$0.23 to -$2.88Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Deteriorated: -82.9%
$61.4M to $10.5MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Changed: +76.1%
$138.0K to $243.0KCritical
Why it matters: Neither good nor bad on its own. Heavy spending is a company building capacity or a company struggling to stand still, and the two look identical in this figure.
Improved: +18.7%
$155.0K to $184.0KSignificant
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Deteriorated: +1.6%
8.5M to 8.6MNotable
Why it matters: New shares divide the same company into more pieces, so each existing holding owns slightly less of it. Often pay for staff or an acquisition rather than anything wrong.
Q2 FY2026 against Q2 FY2025, from the 10-Q filed Aug 13, 2026 — read it.
Improved: +365.9 pts
1834.1% to 2200.0%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +65.7%
$29.5M to $48.9MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Improved: +28.7%
$752.0K to $968.0KSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +27.9%
$0.09 to $0.11Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +7.3%
$41.0K to $44.0KNotable
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
Q2 FY2026 against Q1 FY2026, from the 10-Q filed Aug 13, 2026 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Deteriorated: −434.1 pts
2634.1% to 2200.0%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +83.8%
$26.6M to $48.9MCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Deteriorated: -16.5%
$1.2M to $968.0KSignificant
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Deteriorated: -17.3%
$0.13 to $0.11Significant
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Trailing P/E is not meaningful because the latest trailing earnings are zero or negative. The price-to-book and price-to-sales figures below still provide reference points.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Reported annual figures
Published results · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Held a shareholder vote · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2026
Profit margin +8887.6 pts · Profit turned positive · Free cash flow turned positive — against Q1 FY2025
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingPublished results
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2025
Revenue +18.7% · Profit margin −14720.1 pts · Profit turned negative — against FY2024
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2025
Revenue +30.6% · Profit margin −52248.2 pts · Profit turned negative — against Q3 FY2024
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2025
Revenue +7.9% · Profit margin +1160.5 pts · Profit +193.8% — against Q2 FY2024
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2025
Revenue +7.5% · Profit margin −5868.5 pts · Profit $2.5M wider — against Q1 FY2024
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2024
Revenue -13.4% · Profit margin −1172.8 pts · Profit -55.4% — against FY2023
Read the filingReceived a delisting or listing-standard notice · Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingReceived a delisting or listing-standard notice
Read the filingRecorded a material impairment
Read the filingPrimary sources and further research