OTC MARKETS · Banking · CIK 0001847360
$18.50
+0.04% · live
Updated
$112.6M market value
From 1895 Bancorp of Wisconsin, Inc. /MD/'s FY2023 10-K, filed Mar 29, 2024 · read the filing
1895 Bancorp of Wisconsin, /MD/ takes deposits and lends money.
The financial picture is mixed, with debt needing attention and profitability weaker.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
Several areas of financial weakness.
From 1895 Bancorp of Wisconsin, Inc. /MD/'s FY2023 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2023
Profit
-$148.0K → -$6.8M
Earnings per share
-$0.02 → -$1.12
Shares in issue
6.2M → 6.1M
2 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
Measured against FY2022, from the 10-K filed Mar 29, 2024
Deteriorated: $6.6M wider
-$148.0K to -$6.8MCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
BCOW rose 0.04% on the latest quote. The average Financials company tracked here moved −1.33%, and the S&P 500 −0.47%. That is 1.4 points above its sector and 0.5 points above the market.
No filing from BCOW and no news item about it appeared in the last 3 days.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 0.0% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $6.8M last year.
Not enough history has been reported to judge growth.
For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.15 in assets. Banks and insurers always carry high debt — that is how lending works — so this is normal for the industry and not comparable with other sectors.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2023 annual filing
Last year it lost $6.8M and generated -$709.0K of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202310-K · Mar 29, 2024Filing for FY2023 | FY202210-K · Mar 30, 2023Filing for FY2022 | FY202110-K · Mar 30, 2023Filing for FY2021 | FY202010-K · Mar 29, 2022Filing for FY2020 | ChangeFY2023 vs FY2022 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Interest expense | $8.5M | $2.0M | $1.5M | $3.0M | +329.1% |
| Income before tax | -$6.4M | -$319.0K | $21.0K | $3.1M | −1907.5% |
| Net income | -$6.8M | -$148.0K | $85.0K | $1.3M | −4489.2% |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $-1.12 | $-0.0238 | $0.0133 | $0.2724 | −4580.8% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Nothing recent
No insider trades, pending-sale notices or 5% stake filings from BCOW in the last few months. That is the ordinary case, not a gap.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Received a delisting or listing-standard notice · Reported another event
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingWrite down why you are following 1895 Bancorp of Wisconsin, Inc. /MD/, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
The 2 subsidiaries named in its 10-K. A filer lists the significant ones and may leave the rest out, so this is the floor rather than the full count.
Source: Exhibit 21 of the 10-K filed 2024-03-29. These are legal entities, not brands or acquisitions — a company that bought a business may hold it inside an entity named here, or inside one small enough that the rule does not require naming it at all.
Coverage from the last 30 days
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from BCOW's 10-K for fiscal year 2023 (period ending 2023-12-31, filed Mar 29, 2024), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Growth and Accounting had too few reported figures and are left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 5 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | 4.0 | 2/5 | 10-K, filed Mar 29, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 4.0 | 3/5 | 10-K, filed Mar 30, 2023 |
| FY2021 | 8.0 | 3/5 | 10-K, filed Mar 29, 2022 |
| FY2020 | 8.0 | 2/3 | 10-K, filed Mar 29, 2022 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
2 of 5 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. 4 could not be evaluated and are excluded from the total rather than counted as failures.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2023 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: $1.09 wider
-$0.02 to -$1.12Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: -2.0%
6.2M to 6.1MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Q3 FY2024 against Q3 FY2023, from the 10-Q filed Nov 8, 2024 — read it.
Improved: $3.5M narrower
-$3.6M to -$159.0KCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: $0.57 narrower
-$0.59 to -$0.03Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: -2.6%
6.1M to 6.0MNotable
Why it matters: The company bought back stock, so each remaining holding owns slightly more of it. Worth checking it was not funded by borrowing.
Q3 FY2024 against Q2 FY2024, from the 10-Q filed Nov 8, 2024 — read it. Quarter-to-quarter moves include seasonal swings — a retailer's holiday quarter — which the year-earlier comparison removes.
Improved: $357.0K narrower
-$516.0K to -$159.0KCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: $0.06 narrower
-$0.09 to -$0.03Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
Trailing P/E is not meaningful because the latest trailing earnings are zero or negative. The price-to-book and price-to-sales figures below still provide reference points.
Not meaningful for banks, insurers and other financial companies. Their balance sheets have no working capital and are leveraged by design, which this model misreads as distress.
* Valuation inputs marked stale are based on an annual filing older than eighteen months. The market value is current, but the denominator is not.
Quarterly report for Q3 FY2024
Profit $3.5M narrower · Earnings per share $0.57 narrower · Shares in issue -2.6% — against Q3 FY2023
Made a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2024
Profit $8.0K wider · Earnings per share $0.00 wider · Shares in issue -3.1% — against Q2 FY2023
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2024
Profit $55.0K narrower · Earnings per share $0.01 narrower · Shares in issue -2.9% — against Q1 FY2023
Read the filingMade a Regulation FD disclosure
Read the filingProxy statement for a shareholder meeting
Read the filingAnnual report for FY2023
Profit $6.6M wider · Earnings per share $1.09 wider · Shares in issue -2.0% — against FY2022
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q3 FY2023
Profit turned negative · Earnings per share turned negative · Shares in issue -1.6% — against Q3 FY2022
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q2 FY2023
Profit $267.0K wider · Earnings per share $0.04 wider · Shares in issue -3.4% — against Q2 FY2022
Read the filingHad a director or senior officer leave or join
Read the filingReported another event
Read the filingHeld a shareholder vote
Read the filingQuarterly report for Q1 FY2023
Read the filingYahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research