NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE, INC. · Metals & Mining · CIK 0001973832
$85.19
-6.89% · live
Updated
$43.02B market value
From AngloGold Ashanti PLC's FY2025 20-F, filed Mar 26, 2026 · read the filing
AngloGold Ashanti mines metal ores. It took in $9.89B last year, which makes it a mid-sized company. Of every dollar it sells, about 32 cents is left as profit.
The financial picture is led by profitability, growth and debt.
A conclusion from the filings, not a recommendation. Detailed figures and supporting evidence appear in their dedicated sections below.
Financial health
Strong finances across the board.
From AngloGold Ashanti PLC's FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Largest year-over-year changes in FY2025
Revenue
$5.79B → $9.89B
Gross profit
$2.07B → $4.87B
Profit
$1.05B → $3.17B
Gross margin
35.7% → 49.2%
Measured against FY2024, from the 20-F filed Mar 26, 2026
Improved: +70.8%
$5.79B to $9.89BCritical
Why it matters: Sales are what everything else is built on. A fall can be lost customers, lower prices, or a business the company sold — the filing itself says which.
How the latest move compares (quote live), and what was published around it
AU fell 6.89% on the latest quote. The average Materials company tracked here moved −1.23%, and the S&P 500 −1.04%. That is 5.7 points below its sector and 5.8 points below the market.
These coincide with the move in time. None is presented as its cause: a price can move on news that names no company, on the wider market, or on trading that no document records.
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Opinions from 16 analysts covering this company, as of . Their views, not this site's.
Of 16 analysts publishing on this company, 4 say strong buy, 9 say buy and 3 say hold. Analysts are paid to publish a view and are wrong often; the split above says how much they agree with each other, which is the part a single headline rating hides.
Published by Finnhub. Analyst coverage skews towards larger companies and towards optimism — sell ratings are rare across the whole market, so a company with none is ordinary rather than endorsed.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
Yes. It keeps about 32 cents of every dollar of sales as profit, earning $3.17B last year.
Yes, quickly. Sales grew 70.8% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $861.0M left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $2.92 in assets.
Core operating and valuation reference metrics
Income
This company pays no dividend. It keeps its profits and reinvests them in the business instead, so any return would have to come from the share price.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it earned $3.17B and generated $4.78B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
As reported to the SEC, in USD. Hover or show sources to see where each figure came from.
| Income statement | FY202520-F · Mar 26, 2026Filing for FY2025 | FY202420-F · Mar 26, 2026Filing for FY2024 | FY202320-F · Mar 26, 2026Filing for FY2023 | FY202220-F · Apr 25, 2024Filing for FY2022 | FY202120-F · Apr 25, 2024Filing for FY2021 | ChangeFY2025 vs FY2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RevenueWhat is this? | $9.89B | $5.79B | $4.58B | $4.50B | $4.03B | +70.8% |
| Cost of revenue | $5.02B | $3.73B | $3.54B | $3.37B | $2.86B | +34.8% |
| Gross profit | $4.87B | $2.07B | $1.03B | $1.13B | $1.17B | +135.7% |
| Gross marginGross profit ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 49.2% | 35.7% | 22.4% | 25.1% | 29.0% | +13.6 pts |
| Selling, general and administrative | $138.0M | $118.0M | $94.0M | $79.0M | $73.0M | +16.9% |
| Interest expense | $116.0M | $121.0M | $113.0M | $102.0M | $109.0M | −4.1% |
| Income before tax | $4.28B | $1.67B | $63.0M | $472.0M | $949.0M | +155.7% |
| Net income | $3.17B | $1.05B | -$222.0M | $251.0M | $638.0M | +202.6% |
| Net marginNet income ÷ revenueWhat is this? | 32.1% | 18.1% | -4.8% | 5.6% | 15.8% | +14.0 pts |
| Earnings per shareNet income ÷ shares outstanding at the period end — close to, but not the same as, the reported EPSWhat is this? | $6.29 | $2.08 | $-0.5289 | — | — | +201.7% |
† calculated from other reported figures, such as total liabilities as assets minus equity.
This company's latest filing beside its peers' stored scores
| Company | Health | F-Score | Revenue growth | Profit margin | P/E | Debt to equity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AUAngloGold Ashanti PLC · this page | 10.0/10 | 9/9 | 70.8% | 32.1% |
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Officers, directors and major shareholders must report within two business days of a trade.
Was granted or awarded shares — 967 shares
Holds 967 shares after this filing.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
20 recent filings, newest first. Each is labelled from its form and item numbers, not from its wording.
Report filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingWrite down why you are following AngloGold Ashanti PLC, what has to go right and what would change your mind, then see each new annual report measured against it. Sign in to start one.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to a filing in the timeline, each linked to the document itself.
Coverage from the last 30 days
AngloGold Ashanti (AU) Stock Dips While Market Gains: Key Facts
Yahoo Finance ·
Here Are Thursday’s Top Wall Street Analyst Research Calls: AngloGold Ashanti, Bank of America, Cirrus Logic, Crocs, Diamondback Energy, Devon Energy, Netflix, PayPal, Spotify Technolgy , and More
Yahoo Finance ·
AngloGold Ashanti (AU) Declines More Than Market: Some Information for Investors
Yahoo Finance ·
AngloGold Ashanti (AU) Dips More Than Broader Market: What You Should Know
Yahoo Finance ·
Every company's figures are checked for internal consistency: the balance sheet adding up, figures sharing one currency, cash flow and share counts within plausible ranges, and how recent the latest annual report is. Nothing here changes a figure.
Financial figures are from AU's 20-F for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-12-31, filed Mar 26, 2026), reported under the IFRS taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 4 scored areas had enough reported figures to judge
The score averages profitability, growth, debt and accounting. Accounting had too few reported figures and is left out of the average rather than counted as a weakness, so a company is never marked down for a figure it did not publish. Cash generation is shown for context and already feeds profitability. Valuation is scored separately, because a share price says nothing about whether the business is sound. 9 of the 9 Piotroski checks could be evaluated. How the score works
Each year scored only from its annual report as it was first filed
| Fiscal year | Health | F-Score | Scored from |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | 10.0 | 9/9 | 20-F, filed Mar 26, 2026 |
| FY2024 | 10.0 | 7/9 | 20-F, filed Apr 15, 2025 |
| FY2023 | 6.0 | 2/8 | 20-F, filed Apr 25, 2024 |
| FY2022 | 7.3 | 4/8 | 20-F, filed Apr 25, 2024 |
| FY2021 | 10.0 | 3/3 | 20-F, filed Apr 25, 2024 |
A later restatement never reaches back into an earlier year, and every year is scored without a share price, so the latest point can differ a little from the headline score, which uses today's price.
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
9 of 9 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Improved: +135.7%
$2.07B to $4.87BCritical
Why it matters: What is left of sales after the direct cost of producing them. It normally moves with revenue, so a move out of step with revenue is the part worth noticing.
Improved: +202.6%
$1.05B to $3.17BCritical
Why it matters: Profit swings far more than sales do, and one-off items — a legal settlement, a tax charge, an asset sale — move it without the underlying business changing.
Improved: +13.6 pts
35.7% to 49.2%Critical
Why it matters: What survives each sale before overheads. Falling gross margin usually means the company is discounting or its input costs rose — it is the earliest place pricing pressure shows.
Improved: +14.0 pts
18.1% to 32.1%Critical
Why it matters: What survives to the very end of each sale. Worth reading beside revenue: growing sales on a shrinking margin means the company is buying its growth.
Improved: +201.7%
$2.08 to $6.29Critical
Why it matters: Profit divided by the shares in issue at the period end, so it sits close to but not on the company's own reported figure. It can rise with no growth in profit when the company buys back stock — read it beside the share count.
Improved: +103.9%
$1.43B to $2.90BCritical
Why it matters: A falling cash pile is only a warning if the company is consuming it. Paying down debt, buying back stock and paying a dividend all reduce cash by choice.
Deteriorated: +6.5%
$1.90B to $2.02BNotable
Why it matters: Rising debt is not automatically bad — borrowing to build something that earns more than the interest is ordinary. It matters when it grows faster than the profit meant to service it.
1 other measure barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Moves are graded on fixed lines — 5%, 15% and 40% for amounts, and 1, 3 and 8 points for margins — as notable, significant or critical. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Filter by minute, hour, day or week — or compare against peers
Loading price history…
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 0.9% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
The trailing P/E is 13.6x — investors pay $13.6 for each $1 of trailing profit.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
| 13.55x |
| 0.52x |
| NEMNEWMONT Corp /DE/ | 10.0/10 | 9/9 | 21.3% | 31.3% | 17.54x | 0.68x |
|---|
| Median of peers | 10.0/10 | — | 21.3% | 31.3% | 17.54x | 0.68x |
|---|
Peers come from the company's industry classification. A difference describes the companies; it does not rank them.
Report filed on Form 6-K
Report filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingReport filed on Form 6-K
Read the filingAngloGold Ashanti (AU) Advances While Market Declines: Some Information for Investors
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research