NYSE · Industrial Inorganic Chemicals · CIK 0000002969
$301.27
-2.21% · delayed 15 min
$67.06B market value
What this company does
Air Products & Chemicals makes industrial chemicals. It took in $12.04B last year, which makes it a large company. It spends more than it earns — losing about 3 cents on every dollar of sales.
Recorded a material impairment, in a filing on 2026-06-30.
Form 8-K, item 2.06 · Read the filing
These are things the company filed or that a published model flagged — not predictions, and not a reason on their own to buy or sell anything.
Financial health
A mixed picture — some clear strengths and some weaknesses.
From Air Products & Chemicals, Inc.'s FY2025 annual filing · share price scored separately
Every check behind the three models, and what each one tests
Measured against FY2024, from the 10-K
Deteriorated: turned negative
$3.83B to -$394.5M
Deteriorated: −1.1 pts
32.5% to 31.4%
Deteriorated: −34.9 pts
31.6%
Day-to-day operations generate real cash, not just accounting profit.
$3.26B cash from operations
It holds more cash than debt, so borrowings are not a pressure.
$1.82B more cash than debt
It loses money, so it depends on cash reserves or new funding to keep going.
$394.5M lost last year
Sales are shrinking rather than growing.
down 0.5% on last year
It keeps less of each sale as profit than it did a year ago.
31.6% → -3.3%
Filter by minute, hour, day or week
Loading price history…
Expectations
Not from the filings — what other people are betting on, and what the price already assumes.
Measured on and published about a week later — this is a fortnightly snapshot, not a live position.
About 1.7% of this company's shares have been borrowed and sold by people expecting to buy them back cheaper. That is a bet the price falls. Those people can be wrong, and when a heavily shorted share rises they have to buy it back, which pushes it up further.
The essentials
Each answered from the filings, with the numbers behind it.
No. It lost $394.5M last year, losing about 3 cents on every dollar of sales.
What it earns, what it keeps, and what it costs to run — all from the same filing
Whether the dividend is covered by what the business actually earns
It paid a dividend while making a loss, so the payment did not come out of profits — it came from reserves, borrowing or asset sales. It paid out 49% of the cash its operations generated. It has paid in each of the last 12 years.
WeakNext payment expected around , projected from how regularly it has paid before rather than from a date the company has announced.
Figures from the FY2025 annual filing
Last year it lost $394.5M and generated $3.26B of cash from operations.
Reported annual figures
Insider activity, ownership stakes and what's coming — straight from EDGAR, before any article is written about it
Estimated from how often this has happened before, not a confirmed date.
Not investment advice, and not a signal to act on by itself — a filing says what happened, not why, and insiders trade for ordinary reasons having nothing to do with where they think the company is headed.
Go deeper
Every figure above traces back to one of these filings.
Straight from SEC EDGAR — the original source for every figure above
| Filing | Filed | Covers to |
|---|---|---|
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-07-30 | 2026-07-30 |
Financial figures are from APD's 10-K for fiscal year 2025 (period ending 2025-09-30), reported under the US GAAP taxonomy. View the source filing.
3 of 8 checks passed
Nine yes-or-no tests of whether this year's finances improved on last year's. One could not be evaluated and is excluded from the total rather than counted as a failure.
2.57
In the grey zone
For this model, above 2.99 is safe and below 1.81 is distress.
Distance from bankruptcy, from a model fitted on companies that did and did not go bust. It describes a balance sheet's shape today; it does not forecast a failure.
not reported — This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
Screens eight accounting ratios for the pattern earnings manipulators tend to leave. A flag is a reason to read the filing closely, never evidence of wrongdoing.
Every figure above comes from the FY2025 filing as filed with the SEC.
Deteriorated: $615.8M wider
-$3.15B to -$3.77B
Deteriorated: -37.7%
$2.98B to $1.86B
3 other measures barely moved. Figures compare the two most recent annual filings — read the latest one. Nothing here reads the management commentary, which is where a company explains its own numbers.
Collected by FINRA from broker-dealers twice a month. It counts positions, not intentions, and some of it is hedging rather than a directional bet against the company.
Nothing in this section is a figure this company reported about itself. These are expectations and positions — what the price implies, what analysts have published, what short sellers are betting, and what large funds held at the last count. WylthIQ reports them; it does not endorse them, does not forecast prices, and takes no view on whether any of them will turn out to be right.
No. Sales shrank 0.5% last year.
No — it holds more cash than debt, with $1.82B left over after paying off every borrowing. For every $1 it owes, it owns $1.73 in assets.
It has no profits to compare a price against, because it lost money last year.
This company has not reported enough of the required figures to calculate this score.
At a glance
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-06-30 | 2026-06-26 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-04-30 | 2026-04-30 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2026-01-30 | 2025-12-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-30 | 2026-01-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2026-01-29 | 2026-01-28 |
| Shareholder voting information(DEF 14A) | 2025-12-11 | 2026-01-28 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-25 | 2025-11-23 |
| Annual report(10-K) | 2025-11-20 | 2025-09-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-11-06 | 2025-11-06 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-08-20 | 2025-08-18 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-06-30 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-31 | 2025-07-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-07-08 | 2025-07-07 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-06-11 | 2025-06-09 |
| Quarterly report(10-Q) | 2025-05-01 | 2025-03-31 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-05-01 | 2025-05-01 |
| Major event announcement(8-K) | 2025-02-24 | 2025-02-24 |
Coverage from the last 30 days
Is Air Products and Chemicals Stock Underperforming the S&P 500?
Yahoo Finance ·
US firms pledge $2bn for South Korea’s chip, clean energy sectors
Yahoo Finance ·
Air Products' Shares Rally 25% YTD: What's Driving the Upside?
Yahoo Finance ·
AKZOY vs. APD: Which Stock Is the Better Value Option?
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Air Products and Chemicals (APD) Stock Outpacing Its Basic Materials Peers This Year?
Yahoo Finance ·
Why You Should Add Air Products Stock to Your Portfolio Now
Yahoo Finance ·
Here's Why You Should Retain Air Products Stock in Your Portfolio
Yahoo Finance ·
Is Elevated Clean Energy Spending and Project Exit Charges Altering The Investment Case For Air Products (APD)?
Yahoo Finance ·
Air Products and Chemicals Stock: Analyst Estimates & Ratings
Yahoo Finance ·
All You Need to Know About Air Products and Chemicals (APD) Rating Upgrade to Buy
Yahoo Finance ·
Europe Liquid Hydrogen Market Report 2026–2035: Evaluating $13.1 Billion Forecast, Cryogenic Distribution, and Strategies of Linde, Air Liquide, Chart Industries, and Air Products
Yahoo Finance ·
4 Diversified Chemical Stocks to Gain Amid Stable End-market Demand
Yahoo Finance ·
Primary sources and further research